We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience San Diego Zoo
from US$ 62.00
More Info
from US$ 120.00
More Info
from US$ 62.00
More Info
from US$ 42.00
More Info
Reviews (27,799)
Filter reviews
27,799 results
Traveller rating
19,793
5,554
1,819
435
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19,793
5,554
1,819
435
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tram kangaroo bus guided bus tour panda bears big cats safari park walking shoes wear comfortable shoes behind the scenes day pass free parking animals skyfari hippos aviaries gondola conservation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 27,799 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I ditto last review on the hour long wait in line to get in on the hot asphalt wearing a mask . Everyone I saw today looked like they were in good enough shape to handle it but I would warn if it’s a hot sunny day in the forecast
make sure you bring plenty of water for the long wait in line and sunscreen / hat will help.
The zoo is really amazing and has some great animals to see in beautiful habitats . There were many Koala bears to see looking pretty happy.

Thank jtop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The lines are long and while our visit the sun was bad, we spent over an hour in line wearing masks ! I think tents or covers should be above people in the line.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank Scenic468231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

Fun experience. Great employees. Awesome animals. Surprisingly open. We bought a season pass and cannot wait to return. Make sure you go after 12 to avoid the entry lines

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank michaelkK160AY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

This fantastic, world-famous zoo lives up to its reputation. It has a dizzying number of animals (I heard around 12,000), and the zoo makes a genuine effort to provide a semblance of a natural habitat (sans cages) for the animals, all of whom look very well cared-for. There are animals from just about every habitat imaginable, so there's definitely a lot to see - I loved the two aviaries, the gorilla tropics, and the acacia woodland. This zoo could easily take a couple of days to explore, so take your time and don't rush. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the park (I don't know how they're able to remember everything in a zoo this large!), so definitely ask someone if you're lost.

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank dustythoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

We arrived to the parking lot at 12:04pm.
It took almost one hour to make it through the health screening line. It was 85 degrees an we were in the sun the whole time. So we were disappointed to realize that we needed to wait in another line despite the fact that We pre-purchased tickets and made reservations through a travel agent. The problem is that our voucher only had a reference number and not a bar code or QR scan code. Therefore our vouchers needed to be taken to the ticket booth. This required that we stand in line another 30 minutes. That's because there was literally only one booth operational. I'll assume that they were either short staffed or unprepared for the spring break rush. I also noticed that there were long waits at all concessions too. Either way, BE PREPARED!
Come early and have your tickets before you get here. Your life will be much easier as your kids won't be cranky before you get started.

3  Thank fakihs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews