We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Quaint!”

Spanish Village Art Center
Ranked #47 of 389 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Balboa Park, this center is home to many art galleries and working artist studios. Presently we house 220 local San Diego Artist who create & demo their artwork such as: Fine Art Paintings, Photography,Art Glass, Pottery, Metal Arts, Fiber Arts,Paper Arts, Enamels and more.There are five Guilds on site: Art Glass,Potter's,Wood Carver's, Enamel and Sculptors. We offer classes for all ages and Summer Camp for Kids in our beautiful historic courtyards.Open Daily 11am to 4pm Free WiFi Open to the public Pet Friendly
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Right off the main plaza in Balboa Park is this art center. There are plenty of artists and shops displaying their talents and are more than happy to answer any questions. In general, pricing for the goods seemed very reasonable.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"for sale"
in 10 reviews
"balboa park"
in 69 reviews
"glass blowing"
in 4 reviews
"working studios"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful shops"
in 3 reviews
"buy local"
in 2 reviews
"unique pieces"
in 2 reviews
"pottery"
in 16 reviews
"sculptures"
in 17 reviews
"galleries"
in 10 reviews
"earrings"
in 4 reviews
"prints"
in 4 reviews
"mediums"
in 3 reviews
"painters"
in 3 reviews
"minerals"
in 6 reviews
"wares"
in 4 reviews
"gourd"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Visited here as part of our Balboa Park visit. Great community of artists showing their wares. Was able to watch someone blow glass. The glass and jewelry were most impressive to me.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

I love Spain and visit there regularly so it was interesting to find a little Spanish village in San Diego.

Set within the vast grounds of the park, not too far from the Zoo, the buildings here do really look like a little piece of Spain has been moved over.

The village has a large number of shops and workshops, it was a busy space and had some live music playing while we sat and enjoyed a coffee watching the world pass by.

It was a great place to take 5 mins to rest the feet having spent the day wandering around the zoo.

Great spot for a photograph, it really is a beautiful set up.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 0moir0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I am staying not far from Balboa Park and just walked to check out today. Among a lot of amazing things I found, this art village was so charming and I enjoyed looking at shops. The live guitar music was fantastic. It was not busy day so it felt like a private concert.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MommyandmeColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Toward the end of our 4-5 hours at Balboa Park we strolled about the Spanish Village Arts Center. Colorful stone tiles really light up the plaza which is surrounded by studio shops and a "puck-up coffee stand. A delightful time was had by all!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Village Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Spanish Village Art Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing