We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Spanish Village Art Center
from US$ 59.00
More Info
from US$ 49.00
More Info
from US$ 148.99
More Info
from US$ 149.00
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
94
56
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
56
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sale balboa park the natural history museum working studios wonderful shops buy local no pressure to buy unique pieces couple of hours pottery galleries earrings watercolor mediums painters wares prints
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We walked through the Spanish Village arts center as we were going from the zoo to Prado for lunch. Wish I had read the reviews in advance and allowed more time to explore all the wonderful shops and galleries. The gem museum and its gift shop was a wonderful stop along the way - beautiful topaz earrings at a price I couldn’t believe. Regretting that I didn’t do more shopping there alone. Festive colorful side walks, outdoor seating. Easy parking at the zoo for free. Worth the stop.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank PG-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Nice set of local shops showing off local artists. Right in Balboa park so convenient if interesting in some unique gifts and artwork. Not very big so don't need a lot of time to wander through.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank pedz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Part of Balboa Park, the Spanish Village Art Center is a group of shops which showcase local artists' work. The concept is great, except we got there at 4:05 PM and most of the shops closed at 4:00 PM. Some of the open shops had some beautiful unique pieces, while some pieces looked mass produced.

Since it was cold, we grabbed a coffee at the stand, and sat at one of the tables to enjoy looking at the architecture of the buildings. Is this a destination that you just have to see ? No. However, its always nice to say that you've been there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

It came out as a surprise, as we didn't know what to expect. We had a great time at the spanish art village!
The colorful step stones, the beautiful buildings, the working artists that with some we got an interesting conversation, the variety - well done!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Tallule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Public Relations Manager at Spanish Village Art Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you so much - we always want everyone to have a positive experience when they visit Spanish Village Art Center. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

The Spanish Village Art Center is simply a collection of art shops. It offers nothing overly special and is only worth doing if you have free time to kill in Balboa park, otherwise it can be avoided. Even for arts fans this can be missed.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank JXXXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Public Relations Manager at Spanish Village Art Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

I am sorry you feel that way - we are working studios where the artists work on their are every day. You can watch that glass blowers 5 days a a week. We have artist demonstrations and a large variety of art for sale. The best cup of coffee can be found on the Spanish Village Art Center patio from Daniels Coffee. We also have music almost daily. We may not be everyone's cup of tea but we do have a lot to offer. Please come by and check it out yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews