We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #77 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Really close to the convention center and the gaslamp district. The beds are super comfy and the staff is really friendly. i would definitely recommend for business trips or vacations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qlarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation for our future guests. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the convenient location of the property next door to the convention center and just a short walk to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp District. I am so happy to hear how friendly and accommodating all the staff was during your visit and that you felt this was the perfect hotel for both convention and vacation travelers. We hope to see you again soon whether it be for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,096
    1,713
    680
    270
    123
See reviews for
1,047
961
160
2,227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and found everything to be first class and the service of EVERY person on the staff I ran into was exceptional. The views are spectacular and there is a good selection of restaurants right on the premises so I have not walked across the bridge to the Gaslamp district or to Petco Park which is literally across the street. I can't think of anything to complain about at this facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am ecstatic to learn how much you loved the property and especially how friendly and professional ALL the staff were during your entire visit. It is very important to us that all of our guests get the best and most courteous service during their visit. I am glad you loved your beautiful view and that you enjoyed the delicious food at our on-property restaurants. I appreciate your review and also letting our future guests know that you had no complaints during your visit. Thank you again and I hope you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The only reason to stay in this part of San Diego is for a conference. The only reason to stay at the Hilton is if the Marriott is fully booked. For the same price at conferences one year apart I stayed at the Marriott and got a room with a refrigerator. This may seem small but unless you enjoy paying 4.50 for 6 ounces of orange juice, staying in this area requires a fridge and a trip to Ralphs. The exercise room and restaurants at the Marriott are far superior. Room service is better at the Marriott. The Marriott also provides free cables to connect laptops to television in rooms (a luxury that you understand if you have two monitors in your office.) The Hilton charges $25/day to rent the same cable. Bottom-line: don't stay here unless you have no choice.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the "upgrade" to a "Bayview room". You'll see the bay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBarnacleJaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. I apologize that you did not appreciate the fantastic location of our property located directly on the bay and next door to the convention center. One of the best things about our property is that we offer stunning views of the bay, downtown, and Coronado Island, and we are just a short walk to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp District. The location offers you both a downtown experience with waterfront access. Our property is only four years old and provides our guests with luxury, style, and comfort coupled with impeccable service. We offer free wifi in a variety of locations throughout the hotel including Starbucks, Sweet Things, Vela Restaurant, Fox Sports Grill, and iPads in our Odysea lounge for guests to use. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had hoped. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We enjoyed great views from the 26th floor and were delighted with our corner twin room which gave views over the city and the bridge/bay. This is a fairly new, attractive hotel with modern amenities. The pool is good for children and there's a hot tub - we visited in early April so the weather wasn't hot, but it was pleasant enough for a dip. The location near the Gaslamp District is good so you can easily walk to restaurants and bars. You are also very close to PETCO Park if you fancy watching a ball game. The staff are also very friendly and they try hard to appeal to families with various child oriented activities.

We have 2 young kids aged 9 and 6 and we found it easy to get to the various sights in San Diego either via taxi (Balboa Park, old town) or on foot (the Midway, ferry to Coronado, gas lamp district). If you like to jog, it's a great location as you can run all the way along the Embarcadero.

The only faults I found with the hotel were the lack of wardrobe space (for a family) and the fitness room which is a bit on the small side and doesn't have enough equipment unless you like to run or bike - but why do those in the fitness room when you can do them outside in such a beautiful location? Didn't eat at the hotel, but can recommend the Starbucks downstairs for breakfast that you can then take to the hotel pool or sit on the grass outside on the bay front if the weather is dry. For a good restaurant and 'San Diego' experience, try Casa Guadalajara in San Diego old town - it's very reasonably priced and you get a very good meal along with singing mariachis and strong frozen margaritas. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor and ask for a corner room for great views. Don't worry about the brid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilesb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also taking the time to write a wonderful review. I am pleased to learn that you loved the hotel and that you enjoyed all the beautiful views of the bay and downtown. I am ecstatic to know that all of the staff was friendly and accommodating throughout your visit and that you felt very comfortable throughout your stay. I am happy to know that you appreciated the fantastic location of the property just minutes from Petco Park and downtown and a short drive to many of San Diego’s most popular tourist destinations. I am delighted to know that you valued the kids activities we had available throughout the property and also that you loved the pool. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Large hotel , modern , wonderful views.Great location ,for walking around gaslamp, marina, seaport area. Well run , friendly staff. Very clean .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay, convention center, gaslamp, petco park...are best...simply for the amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyReid999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,546 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,025 - ₹ 33,867
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing