We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fine For Fenway Fans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine For Fenway Fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is just steps from Fenway Park and a great location for visiting fans. Like the old ballpark, this hotel is a bit dated and quirky, but charming in its age. It's a noisy neighborhood, so thankfully there are new windows that are quite good at keeping the street noise out. You can find lots of small things to complain about, like the little TV, the lack of any shelf space in the bathroom, the ridiculously short 1 hour of free WiFi, or the spartan breakfast in the downstairs restaurant. But the staff is friendly and quite good, the hotel is well kept, and while this isn't a four star hotel, it doesn't price itself that way either.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    617
    293
    108
    105
See reviews for
408
510
101
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here, the hotel was much better than I expected. My room was a decent size and clean. The building is old but I did not smell anything funny. The hotel is kept very cold and so I was happy that there was a thermostat in my room. I prefer about 70 degrees. No problems at all with check in or check out. They held my bag the last day and I picked it up 8 hours later before catching my train out of Boston. The location is great if you need to be at Boston University (which I did). It is right on the campus practically and there are restaurants nearby at Kenmore. The T stop is a block away and very quick into downtown Boston--only a few stops.

I ate breakfast there only a couple of times. It was your typical hotel continental breakfast with coffee, tea, bagels, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice. They had waffles but I did not eat that. My room was also very quiet. I have no complaints. It is not a luxurious hotel, but if you are there for school, business or perhaps baseball, it's not a bad deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucero65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed one night before our flight back to the uk . Room was clean and beds comfortable. Enough towels in a decent sized bathroom. One hour of free wifi was a bit stingy and there are no tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms.

We were on the 3rd floor so no noise issues although there are busy roads outside.

The breakfast was very good and the staff in the hotel and the folk serving breakfast were polite and friendly.
Very handy for public transport - short walk from the T and a handy 7/11 store .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Plus side, good location close to Fenway, Boston U,the subway, but the hotel is very rough around the edges. First huge problem was no hot water for 3 days. It's very hot to take a lukewarm shower that turns to cold even in the summer when I took Evening showers when you'd think the hot water wouldn't run out. Another problem was that it wasn't that clean. Continental breakfast was okay, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee, bagels and cold waffles.Front desk staff was very nice.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, very noisy street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Boston Buckminster does have positive and negatives - reasonably comfortable bed, very close to Kenmore Stn and Downtown and a lovely area if you wish to walk home from Copley Stn, stop for lunch or coffee along the way as there are heaps of restaurants and a shopping centre (Prudential Centre) in Boyston St. Excellent Barnes & Noble book store across the road. Pretty tree lined streets and close to Fenway Park. It's also only a half hour to walk Boston Common which was delightful - squirrels running around everywhere.
.........but.... keep in mind it's a 2 Star Hotel and I definitely wouldn't have stayed had I known it was dog friendly. Shower was luke warm and staff, after a comedy or errors, changed our room, and all was well. Breakfast in the Japanese Karaoke Bar was Continental and was included in our tariff - cardboard bowls, cups, plastic spoons and an overall yukky breakfast venue. You decide on this one, but for me, there would most likely be better options.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,043 - ₹ 24,886
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing