We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the Back Bay from the Colonnade Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy the Back Bay from the Colonnade Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I knew nothing about the Colonnade prior to my stay - save for the online photos. It looked to be fairly central to many attractions in Boston without being too far from the Seaport and the Conference Center where I would be spending a lot of time. When I walked into my room and threw opens the drapes, the view from the 11th floor was most exhilarating - with the Pru right across the street and the "reflecting pool" from the Christian Science center. And then, when I located the rooftop pool, that sealed the deal! The pool staff, from the manager to the bartender to the life guard were all so personable and welcoming. For the rest of the hotel, the Concierge personnel were most helpful in directing me to great walking routes, restaurants and pubs. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Thank you Colonnade!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 11th floor overlooking Huntington Ave to get energized by the views of the Back Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyR_Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    774
    223
    79
    56
See reviews for
754
876
141
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Boston was a stop-over for our family of five. We had less than 24 hours in the city. The concierge staff at The Colonnade helped me even before we arrived when I called the day before with some logistical issues with timing in our brief stay (getting tickets for a show and how best to get around town). Even as we were approaching Boston by car, I called ahead and the front desk staff was able to arrange an early check in. The room was beautiful, clean, and "just right" for our needs. Breakfast by the pool was delicious and a great experience for the kids. When I find myself back in Boston, The Colonnade will be my home base again (maybe even try to slip away without the kids!) :) Laura from NJ

Room Tip: If you are an out-of towner with a Red Sox fan, there are rooms that have a view of Fenway Park! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayakqueen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a great Hotel. Great conference/meeting facilities, dinner, and awesome customer service. I had to check out, but flight was delayed and they kept my luggage so that I could visit. Wonderful place. It rained so we didn't get to go to the pool - there is a next time though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The location of this hotel is convenient, and our room was comfortable. But, two issues marred our stay. First, the service was uneven. Older employees were consistently friendly and professional. Younger employees gave an air of wariness that was ridiculous, given the industry they work in. The bell hop kept us waiting to check our luggage, after acknowledging our need, to leisurely chat with a family. Meanwhile, the front desk staff who had directed us to the bell hop stood by dully doing nothing, instead of helping out.
Secondly, we had chosen the hotel in part for the roof top pool. On arrival, we discovered that the pool was closing at either 6pm or 4pm during our stay. Having stayed at hotels where the roof top pool was open until 10pm, we found these hours ridiculously limited, especially given that many Boston tourism sights close at 5pm.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ding88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for mentioning our superior location and our comfortable guest rooms. We'd like to apologize for the uneveness of our service. All of our employees endeavor to provide genuine and friendly service to each one of our guests. We believe that our genuine and friendly approach to customer service is what distinguishes our hotel. It appears that our bell attendant was offering friendly service and assistance to another family when you required their service. Certainly, our front desk staff member could have asked another member of our staff to assist you sooner. Our Roof Top Pool is open from 8AM - 8PM daily. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was in Boston last June with the family. I had a week long meeting at Harvard University and had to spend the whole day away from my wife and baby daughter. The staff took care of all their needs. The windows from the ceiling to floor make the rooms huge! The location could not be more perfect! Right in front of the Prudential Mall and walking distance from Copley square and Newbury fashion street. And as mentioned on "OhioSnick" review, Thornton's at 150 Huntigton is a great choice for breakfast!

Room Tip: High floors always give you some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernandolima55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,222 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,099 - ₹ 42,081
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing