We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and great lobby but rooms sort of need some renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #58 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Orlando
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice staff and great lobby but rooms sort of need some renovation”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great typical DoubleTree experience with the Chocolate chip cookies and all. But wifi was NOT included in the room price of $200 and after I purchased it, it was SUPER slow. So slow that opening document's from my company's VPN was unusable.. Also there was some mold in the grout of the tub. Not a big deal I guess but for that much money I expected more..

There is a nice little deli too in the lobby that serves breakfast lunch and dinner & starbucks coffee.

Room Tip: Expect to pay for wifi and dont count on it being fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    591
    348
    128
    62
See reviews for
439
430
126
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We arrived after 8.30 pm at the hotel. We thought, being bayside, that this hotel would have been close to the water and therefore nice for the evening with restaurants etc.

Instead, this hotel has nothing in the vicinity in the way of restaurants. We were told that there was a hotel restaurant, or an Irish/American restaurant that came to pick you up from the hotel. 

We decided to stay local and check out the hotel restaurant.  When we went down stairs to find the restaurant we found what looked like a cafe being run by two boys. It was not a restaurant at all, there were options to make sandwiches, pizza, salads and quesadillas. I don't eat meat, and there was a soup option of clam chowder. When I went to order this, I was told they had run out of it. The only other option was a cheese pizza. I had to wait over  35 minutes for this pizza. It was not very nice when it arrived, and cost over $15 which was way over priced. I was VERY disappointed by this meal. My sister and dad had the chicken quesadillas. They were OK,  but they would not recommend them to anyone. It was ONLY a place that you would go to if it was too late to go out, but the fact that there was nowhere else to go if you are travelling without a car, you are pretty much stuck with no other option.

The room is fine. The coffee/tea options are ok. The duvet set up is a bit strange. There is a sheet under the duvet, and a sheet over the duvet, then the actual duvet has no cover. The hotel literature says that there is WIFI throughout the hotel. This element is true, but unless you are a Diamond or Platinum Hilton Honours card holder the charge for WIFI in the room was $12 per 24 hours per device. We have travelled across Washington DC and New York where we have had complimentary WIFi in the rooms everywhere and also on the trains between each state. We were offered a free chocolate cookie upon arrival each. This was very nice but Hold the cookies.....Just give me complimentary WIFI.  If this aspect does not bother you then that is fine, I just think it is worth making the point.

What this then resulted in,  was people in their pyjamas in the evening walking all around the hotel, and congregating in the lobby, with their iPads and lap tops using the complimentary WIFi there. 

Despite this element, the hotel is comfortable, not enough milks were replaced after our first night to make two coffees which was a little annoying. We were left 1 milk by housekeeping for some strange reason.

The hotel was situated only 3 minutes from the T station which was handy for us because we were travelling without a car on this occasion, and it took about 20 mins to get into the main areas of Boston.

There is a courtesy bus service that will take you to the airport. It is what you would expect from this rating of hotel and it was very prompt and organised. Most importantly I slept very well both nights. 

All the staff members with whom I came into contact were very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the car park which I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annalisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
363 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel is clean and beautiful. We stayed one night and it was close to downtown. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We came to Boston to go to a graduation and were very pleased with the hotel. Check in was very quick and we got cookies and a little welcome bag. The rooms are a pretty decent size, with a good sized bathroom and very comfy beds. The hotel is diagonal from the JFK/UMASS T stop, and you can either walk over there or take the free shuttle if you need to. It is a short ride to Boston Common, only 5 stops. The only reason the hotel did not get 5 stars was because the walls are paper thin. We were kept up all night by groups of people coming in from their night out in Boston. Rooms could defiantly use a double door.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colobordrbuny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Overall this was a good stay however there were two things that made the experience less than great. 1) The walls were thin and we could easily hear our neighbors. 2) We found a dirty pair of underwear underneath the bed that were left there by the previous guests. Warm cookies were nice touch and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,951 - ₹ 21,770
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing