We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the Midtown while visiting several colleges in Boston. Myself, my husband, and 3 daughters ages 16, 13, and 10 stayed in one room. The room and bathroom were clean, the room was a good size and accommodated a cot with no problem. The hotel is noisy, right on a main road. The walls are thin, we could hear the shower in another room and the vending machines in the hallway, and our room was right over the parking garage (which was surprisingly not as problematic as I thought it would be.) There is no restaurant on the premises. That being said, the location was perfect and the price was right. This was, by far, the least expensive option to stay right in the city. Even the parking fee was much less than any other hotel we found. We were able to walk everywhere, there is a great breakfast place right down the street, and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again for a utilitarian trip, but for a family vacation I might choose a hotel with more frills.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,110 - 3,114 of 3,741 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is in one of the prime areas of Boston. It is walking distance to many great areas. The parking underneath was wonderful. I had a coupon that gave us free parking & free internet. The room was clean, comfortable beds & pillows (I am fussy about these) and the re were plenty of nice towels. The flat screen TV was also a nice touch. The hotel is noisy - but by 10 pm each night it was really quiet - even with the school groups there. I did take a tip & ask for a room on the 2nd floor on the backside of the hotel & it was a good location. Also good place for visitig our daughter at Northeastern.

Room Tip: ASk for the 2nd floor on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tervfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed for one night on a recent trip to visit Northeastern. In reading the reviews, I asked for a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid the noise of Huntington Ave. That was request was met, but the hotel overall is very noisy with thin walls and doors. As we were settling in we could hear a couple of little kids next door clearly singing "Take Me Out to the Ball Game", and then heard the front desk staff knocking on someone's door at 3am. There were a couple of busloads of what looked like middle-school aged kids who were staying at the hotel, but mercifully, they were on the other side of the hotel.

The room was large, beds comfy, and bathroom clean with a good shower. Coffee maker in the room was good too. Parking convenient and relatively inexpensive for Boston.

So, while the location and rate were great, I'm not sure I'd risk staying again for fear that we might have more noisy neighbors than we had this time around. I noticed on their "welcome board" that they had several school groups coming - so perhaps worth checking before you book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel; also check to see if there are school groups staying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScarboroughFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

If Boston is your destination, and a hotel is a place to stay while you're there, Location and price make the Midtown Hotel a good choice.
.
PRO- The Hotel-Large rooms, clean, simply furnished, Comfortable beds.Staff is courteous and helpful. Parking is available underneath, and as far as i could see, much cheaper than other places around. The location is incredible with nearby shopping, concert halls and theaters, museums and if you don't like those things, two T stations are a real short walk away
BUT...Noise!
The walls are thin, and the clientele seemed to be groups of uh...exuberant college students.
Also, the hotel runs close along a major road, so if you're on that side of the hotel, traffic noise might be an issue for you. If you stay, ask for a room away from the road.

One more thing- WiFi is not free

Room Tip: -Rooms away from road in front of hotel are quieter. -Ask if young people are staying near, and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Staff were very friendly and courteous, rooms were very basic but very clean, BIG tv in rooms, prettty spacious for a basic motel room, coffee supplies, sink area separate from shower/toilet which is convenient when you have a room full of women, motel was within walking distance to town centre, and 25min walk to feneul hall. Great experience overall, would definitely recommend, as long as you're not seeking luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
751 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#52 of 84 in Boston
2,412 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,239 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: ₹ 4,736 - ₹ 26,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing