We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impersonal with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have stayed at the Boston Copley twice in the last year. Each time the room was clean and nice, but this is a huge impersonal convention type hotel, not the kind of place I usually like and really it's a little unlovable. But the Westin Copley has a couple of things going for it. First, if you pay a little extra you get a mesmerizing view of the Charles river and city, really wonderful. Second, the location is just fantastic. It's a short walk from the train station and has a Starbucks right downstairs. But even more importantly, you can walk to the Boston public library, the Charles river walking trails, the shops and restaurants of Newbury Street, the Boston Common and other key sights. I prefer real street life, but the hotel is also attached to a huge mall with a lot of nice shops and restaurants. So the key to staying here is to make the most of the location and not expect much in the way of atmosphere from the hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank ApricotHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

I am sorry to hear that you felt the atmosphere was impersonal...that is not what we strive for and honestly we do more Corporate and Leisure Transient business then we do convention business so it should not feel that way...I will be sure to share your comments with our management staff as I feel it is important that they here your perception.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,720 - 2,724 of 4,019 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Why do so many of the bigger hotel chains have such old, tired yellow/beige decor? This Westin is a classic illustration of the old school brown, beige, blah colour scheme that looks dated, dingy and tired.
The good things- great beds and a decent fitness centre.
The bad-dinky old tiny bathtub, dripping shower, rust around the drain. The restaurants were air conditioned to meat locker temperature- we had to leave the sushi restaurant because we were so cold. The hotel is massive and does not cope well with check in and check out. The queue was 50 deep when I tried to check out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminigirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. I am sorry to hear that you felt that we needed updating. If you are referring to the lobby, I will agree with you as that is the last area to be renovated and will be done in January. The Guest rooms were all completed last year in April using the Westin version 3 model room. So those are typical and standard to the westin brand...if there was rust or a dripping shower that is not acceptable, and is a maintenance issue that needs to be addressed...that should not happen.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great location for shopping at Copley Mall and Prudential Center Mall - - both connected via a skywalk which is great if the weather is bad. Had a fantastic view of Boston from the 36th floor. Enjoyed most meals and drinks in the Hotel except for a walk to the 'Legal Fish' in Prudential Center Mall. Very nice large Lobby Area with plenty of sitting space. Very comfortable beds and a great T.V. No fridge in the room. Close by Subway stops.

Room Tip: Try to get a 'high-floor' room for the best view. Great view on either side if a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billanddoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

I would recommend that if you are looking for a great seafood restuarant with the best chowder in Boston, then you need not leave the hotel and try Turner Fisheries...

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I've been traveling to Boston frequently and trying a different hotel each visit (partially because I haven't fallen in love with one). The good and the bad of the Westin:

-Great location
-Helpful doormen, front desk, and concierge
-comfortable beds
-thoughtful, opt-in green program
-great showers
-free bottle of water and wifi in the room
-very good gym (and right around the corner from a great Equinox)

-shabby feel of neglect
-stained (but washed) sheets
-noise from street and adjacent rooms
-stale smell to room
-many things missing from minibar upon arrival, no cups for in room hot water/coffee maker
-giant hotel with crowded valet parking, elevators, lines for concierge at busy times
-lots of conventions, felt like a mall or people processing plant, not a hotel

I probably won't come back unless I get a really good deal. It's a convenient location for a decent nights sleep and shower, but incredibly impersonal and lacking refinement/attention to details.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston, but I am diappointed to learn about your perception of the Hotel. Perhaps if you have a moment to discuss it further I can be reached at michael.jorgensen@westin.com

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

I look forward to speaking with you soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

stayed at the hotel in september 2012. the rooms are okay but the beds are extremely comfortable. there was a conference on whilst at the hotel. the hotel coped reasonably well. all the food was good. views from the hotel were good, pricewise was reasonable value. the bar on the reception level was good with great ambience. the concierge and reception area's were very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. September is a very busy month for the city of Boston and I am glad to see that you enjoyed yourself.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 84 in Boston
1,918 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#53 of 84 in Boston
2,454 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Copley Place, Boston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: ₹ 9,192 - ₹ 41,750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place, Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Copley Place, Boston is located in Boston's sophisticated Back Bay neighborhood, alongside the best shopping, dining and entertainment that the city has to offer. Famous attractions such as Fenway Park, the Boston Public Library, the Boston Common, and Quincy Market are within close proximity of the hotel and can be easily visited by way of public transportation. Conveniently, the hotel is located just 15 minutes from Boston's Logan International Airport and is easily accessible from I-90, I-93 and Boston's historic Storrow Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Copley Place, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing