We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a rotunda suite with a fabulous view of the harbour and we absolutely loved this hotel. Rooms are beautifully appointed, if a little old fashioned in the furniture. Bathroom was good. Housekeeping was excellent, including the turn down service. We had a magical night at the restaurant listening to a soul music group playing from a barge on the water in front of the hotel, food was very good and the whole atmosphere was so relaxed and fun. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
How wonderful that you were able to enjoy our Summer in the City Entertainment Series while visiting us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are so glad to hear that you experienced the harbor views from one of our Rotunda suites and that you found your stay both comfortable and relaxing. Please join us again for another great stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    271
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
446
669
76
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel was a lovely treat on my business trip (out of my budget if I were paying for it myself). It's everything I'd expect of a hotel of this standard. Great service from all the staff we encountered. We had a lovely meal one evening in the Sea Grille restaurant and two nights ate in the bar. All the meals were very good, but generally we ate elsewhere as there are nice, much cheaper alternatives nearby (e.g. Panera Bread across the street suited us much better for breakfast!). The prices for the food and drinks in the hotel are on a par with other fancy hotels i.e. very expensive. The turndown service was nice, but I couldn't understand why they tuned the radio to a station with very bad reception every night!

The hotel is in a very nice area and location is within easy walking distances of lots of attractions, restaurants, businesses and shops, and pretty handy for South Station too.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience during your business trip to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. It was certainly our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are delighted to read that our personalized service, convenient location and dining in both Rowes Wharf Sea Grille and our bars exceeded your expectations. We do apologize for the reception on the radio and have made our Housekeeping team aware. It would be our pleasure to personally welcome you back on your next stay in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed at the Boston Harbor Hotel last year with my sister, who was on business, and it was the best experience! We were upgraded to a high floor corner room (even though we were with a seminar group who were supposed to have lower level rooms). The rest of the week was so nice I didn't want to come home. Every evening my sister and I would find our complimentary slippers waiting for us at our turned down beds. The room was so nice and the bed was super comfortable. The location was wonderful (we arrived from the airport via water taxi) and we walked everywhere. I rarely ate at the hotel, but my sister liked the lunches she was served. Be sure to walk over to the North End and you will find a "Little Italy" atmosphere with great restaurants as well as Paul Revere's home.

Room Tip: ask for a corner high floor, view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojonellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
We are so pleased that you and your sister thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and were able to take advantage of the convenience of taking the water taxi from the airport! It is always a treat for us to create memorable experience for our guests and hope you will be able to enjoy a meal in one of our highly acclaimed restaurants on your next visit! Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Warm and efficient check-in . Rooms large, bright and comfortable. Evening turn down service exemplary . Next day I asked housekeeping to come in early to make up the room and they were delighted to do so. Concierge knowledgeable and helpful . View across the harbor towards the airport stunning. We had a grandstand view of the July 4th fireworks. Hotel badly let down by the service and quality of the Sea Grille Restaurant . Breakfast barely edible ( are pancakes so difficult to make ?) , table dirty, service hit and miss. At lunchtime hostess was overwhelmed , service slow an inefficient , pasta when it arrived was so overcooked it was like soup. Waiter tells me this is the way it's done in Italy ! Thankfully lots of good alternatives for dining within walking distance . If your heading to the financial district this is probbly the most convenient location. Service and food not in the same league as the Four Seasons or Taj on the Common or the Charles in Cambridge.

Room Tip: In summer pay extra for a waterfront room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf on Trip Advisor. While it seems your accommodations and our location fully met your expectations, it is of great concern to learn that your dining experience was not enjoyable. Receiving feedback from our guests gives us the ability to continually improve our services and product and we appreciate your candid comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for the exceptional stay that you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

From the warm friendly greeting at the front door by the doorman William, to the outstanding service from the staff, to the exquisite food and charm of the restaurants...the Boston Harbor Hotel is the one and only pace to stay when in Boston. Enjoy all the tourist sites within walking distance or just enjoy the incredible views of Boston harbor from the walkways on the harbor side of the hotel. From one side your oom may look out at the harbor, but from the other you now gaze down the new greenway carving a wonderful slice through the city. I repeat myself gladly when I say this is the finest hotel in Boston with the perfect location to enjoy the sights and sounds of the city!

Room Tip: There really aren't any bad rooms. Since the elevated highway cme down the city view rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you so much for painting such a wonderful picture of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf through your description of your recent experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to read that our dedicated staff impressed you with their attention to detail and we will be sure to share your kind comments with them. We look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stay in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,458 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,312 - ₹ 60,774
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing