We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We recently stayed at the InterContinental. The location is absolutely ideal for seeing the city. You're a short walk from the Aquarium and the North End as well as being right in the heart of the Financial District. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive to any needs we had. If I had one complaint is that out floor was very loud. Had a number of people get to their rooms at around 2:30 AM and they really were not too concerned about being noisy. Annoying but not that much of a big deal.

I would certainly stay again next time we are in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Although we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental Boston, we cannot overlook the noise interruptions you experienced on your floor and apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your stay and look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,548
    836
    198
    73
    65
See reviews for
845
1,274
185
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Intercontinental was exceptional. Front desk was friendly and efficient. The bar in the lobby was nice and everyone was friendly. The standard room was large and nicely decorated. Bathroom was large with plenty of counter space. The is a separate shower and tub.

Many previous review commented on the high cost of parking, $40. Here's a tip if you don't mind toting your luggage a few blocks and you are staying on a weekend. Park at The Post Office Square garage. After 4:00 pm weekdays and Sat & Sun the cost is $9.00 /day. Even if you arrive before 4:00 on Friday the cost would be $52 for the weekend compared to $120 at the hotel. When exiting garage, turn left to Pearl St. Take a right down Pearl and walk straight. Just before reaching the hotel, you will have to cross a busy divided (I think it's Atlantic Ave) street. Hotel is on the other side. Walk if five minutes max.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great experience at our hotel and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel with nice rooms overlooking the water. We had a few hiccups with room service and one other request, but after some prodding from us they figured it out. We were disappointed with the concierge who basically couldn't help us when we asked for Portuguese or African Restaurants. She was pleasant but just drew a blank on our request - we Googled it later and found a few options on our own. We appreciated that they accomodated us on the late checkout.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga55traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at InterContinental Boston. We apologize that we were unable to assist in finding Portuguese and African restaurants. I assure you that our concierges are very knowledgeable of eclectic dining options in the area. I have shared your comments with our concierge team and we are working on ways to ensure a similar situation does not happen in the future. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a quick 3 day trip to Boston. I booked 4 club level rooms. When we arrived early to hotel I checked in and we dropped our bags so we could start seeing the sights. The front desk person was very nice and said she would call when rooms were ready. We came back to hotel at 3pm and only 2 of my 4 rooms were ready. An hour later we opted to downgrade 2 of the rooms from club floor to another do we could get in our rooms before we needed to get to sox game. No discount was given for downgrade. I did get wifi code that rarely worked though
The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The location is prime.

The next day we went out for the day when we got back around 430 my room wasn't made up. I called and spoke to a nice person who assured me it would be taken care while we were at dinner. When we got back at 12 room was still not cleaned. Called again spoke to manager. She gave me a $30 break for the inconvenience.
I held the Intercontinental brand to a tier near the Ritz Carlton. I lowered that opinion after we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattfales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Director of Front Office at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We sincerely apologize for the service challenges you experienced during your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide our guest with top-tier service and in this instance we clearly fell short. I can assure you that the housekeeping issues you experienced are not the standard here at InterContinental Boston and your feedback will give us the opportunity to make necessary improvements to our service. We appreciate your honest feedback and hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel's location is great. Short walks to a lot of historic Boston sights. In fact, my room overlooked the site of the original tea party and the recently opened attraction. We were upgraded to a junior suite facing the water. The room was a little weird, however. It was a large oblong space with the bathroom, sleeping area and sitting area in line. The weird part was the connection through a sliding window between the bedroom and the bathroom. When the light was on in the bathroom, it lit the sleeping area. It felt as if there was no privacy. Very unusual.
We had a 5-night stay. Requests made during check-in, repeated on day 2 then day 3 were finally fulfilled on day 4. Not the type of service I've received from other I-C hotels internationally. The bed was lumpy without a bottom fitted sheet, so the sheet was gathered under me every morning and I was lying directly on the mattress.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Director of Front Office at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our proximity to historic Boston attractions, we cannot overlook the fact that we did not meet your service expectations. The service you experienced during your stay is not the standard at InterContinental Boston and I will be sharing your comments with our management team. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,824 - ₹ 44,510
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing