We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

It's an interesting building in a pleasant location.

Check in was a somewhat impersonal (perhaps insincere) and the reservation details didn't match my conversations with iChat direct. That was resolved.
The hotel floors are rather warren like and you'll find lost clients trying to locate their rooms.
Anything additional is expensive here. $50 for the club entry, $40 for parking. At the weekend there are much cheaper alternatives for parking ($10) next to the hotel

The champagne and rum bar is a bar, with champagne and rum among the offerings. It is branding nothing else. Some would call the bar lively. Rowdy might be an alternate description.

The in house dining options aren't exciting and there are much better alternatives nearby.

Ongoing issues with my electronic key had me wondering if I had become magnetic. Does anyone else get bored being told by front office staff that it must be something in your wallet or an electronic device?

Note although it states that a room key is needed to get the elevator to go to guest floors it isn't activated which seemed surprising.

There was also a lack of front staff to get taxis. They were always busy there are just too few of them.

So nice hotel, nice location but nothing to really get you to love this place. Everything including the wall art just has that 'corporate' feeling that gives you little to attach to.

Room Tip: I had an executive suite. The layout was poor. I'd choose something less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
We truly apologize that your expectations were not met or exceeded and that you found our property mediocre. It is good to hear that you did enjoy our guestrooms laden with luxuriating amenities that offer an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. We do believe our hotel has a unique story and we try to share that with our guests to make their experience as memorable as possible. One way we do this is with our lobby art exhibits. For example, last year there were bronze and steel animal sculptures by an Essex sculptor scattered throughout our lobby. We have different exhibits from local artists every 6 months or so and we apologize that we were in transition between exhibits during you stay. We hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to ‘wow’ you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,874
    890
    205
    75
    66
See reviews for
953
1,382
194
1,141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this property very much. It's convenient and very nice inside. Updated. Alarm works easily. Plenty of TV selections. One of the better hotels that i've stayed at in Boston. Walls seem a little thin but not so significant that I wouldn't go back. Actually, the next time I'm in Boston it will be in my top 3 hotels to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodman1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
It is thrilling to hear we have made your top 3 list of Boston hotels and hope that your next stay with us will make us number 1! It is great that you indulged in our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. Each guestroom is equipped with an iHome dock for your iPhone/iPod to help you get ready for a busy day or to relax upon your return. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We recently visited Boston. We booked the intercontinental on a discount website without knowing this would be where we would end up. The room was beautiful and clean, we had a view on the city. Wifi was not up to par and the front desk promptly removed the charge. It's within walking distance of everything. You'll find a Panera close by. We walked all the way to the Wilbur theater in about 20 minutes. The city is enchanting. The parking was confusing in the morning when it came time to check out, ask for directions.

The bathroom is open to the room, not a "roommate" kind of room.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the water! The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewBarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
We are delighted we were able to pleasantly surprise you and that you were satisfied with your stay at our property. We apologize for the issue you face with wifi but we are glad that our staff was able to rectify the situation. Service and location are two aspects we take pride in and it is great you enjoyed both of these. Several sites unique to Boston, such as Faneuil Hall and the New England Aquarium, are just short walking distances away. Next time you visit be sure to stop by our concierge desk for all the in the know tips on Boston’s attractions. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location. Easy to walk or take the T to other parts of Boston. The lobby and rooms were nice. The reason I am giving this hotel 3 stars is because for the price, I expected more. Not all of the outlets in the room functioned properly, the view from our room was horrible, the mini bar/fridge allowed pretty much no room for your own food and drinks (uness you want to pay a $25 fee to unstock it.) I was also disappointed that the bell boy directly asked for a tip for holding our luggage. Incredibly unprofessional. Would recommend to others if you can get a great deal, otherwise, there are a lot more options in the city!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
As you mentioned, our prime location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay with us. Not only are we close to the subway, but during the warmer months the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport and around Boston’s waterfront that many guests do not know about. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the city during your ride. We are sincerely sorry and disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and for the inconveniences you faced with the outlets and mini-fridge in your room. More importantly we would like to apologize for the bell man and his behavior. We want to assure that this not the standard at our hotel and your comments have already been addressed with our team to improve our service moving forward. We appreciate your review of our property and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week attending a conference. We booked in January, but were not allocated a water front view room, other people attending who had booked a lot later than us were allocated one - go figure. Our room faced on to the fire station, the sirens went off day and night, it drove us crazy! While we were there my husband had a very special birthday, we hosted a drinks party for some friends in our room before going out to dinner, I ordered two bottle of champagne from room service, we didn't open them as our guests also bought champagne. I asked room service if we could return the unopened bottles, the guy said he would speak to his supervisor and get back to me, he never did. The next day my husband spoke to reception, they said they would resolve the issue, they never came back to us, the next day my husband spoke to a different person on reception who had no knowledge of the previous conversations, she also promised to get back to us, the next morning, the day we were checking out they left a message to say they couldn't take it back as we had left it too long to ask! My husband spoke to the duty manager, he said the message was wrong the reason they couldn't take it back was it is the law in the US apparently they were worried that we may have tampered or injected the bottle with something! My husband said to the guy it has taken you FOUR days to come back to us, after us having to chase you daily, we are now left with 2 heavy bottles to get home, he did offer to ship it to our home but we are then left having to pay import taxes and duty. We personally spent almost $3000 at this hotel and that was the service we got. I can only imagine the $$$$$ that was spent by the association we attended the conference with - over 600 delegates.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadaBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay at the InterContinental Boston. I am appalled to hear of the poor communication regarding your inquiry into the possibility of returning the purchased bottles of champagne. I certainly understand your frustration and have discussed this issue with those involved to ensure that it is handled more professionally in the future. The hotel has a reputation for extraordinary service and I apologize that you did not receive such treatment. Thank you for your feedback, as the staff will certainly learn from this situation.

You are certainly a valued guest and we look forward to the opportunity regain your confidence in our service. We hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Boston in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,867 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,706 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,304 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,211 - ₹ 40,749
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing