We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the right stuff but we will not return” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“All the right stuff but we will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Spouse was on business and we tagged along. Pros: New, clean, HUGE ROOM, and perfectly situated so we could walk everywhere. Major con -- we reserved a 2 queens room and requested a cot on arrival. The desk gentleman informed us that we cannot put a cot in the room b/c of fire code?!?! We stayed in much smaller rooms and there is never an issue. The room was tremendous, the furniture oversized. Maybe if we moved one chair out of the room, we could have fit two cots in there!! The desk guy was expressionless, bored, rude and spoke so softly, they need to rethink his position as desk representative. The most incredulous part: the desk guy suggested one of my kids SLEEP ON THE FLOOR!!! Was he kidding!?!? I wouldn't ask my dog to sleep on a hotel floor! I had to ask him to repeat what he said just to be sure!! My husband called his employer travel office and they informed us that there were only vacancies in some of the less desirable hotels in the area due to two conventions that were in town. We were stuck with having to rent two rooms. Then to top it off - the 2nd night, the room above us was having a major party that went on till 3am -- we could see right into the room upstairs in the reflection of the building. There were about 15 people in the room partying and dancing. At 230 I called the desk to complain and the clerk said, "Do you know what room number it is?!?! Me; Yes -- the room right above us which would be 925!?! Her: I guess we could send security up." Me: Gee thanks! It was quiet for 20 minutes, just enough time for security to walk away, and then back to the party till 5. Not returning ever, no matter how nice it is --

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rena67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We are sincerely sorry that a stay that was supposed to be special ended up being disappointing for you. We can only apologize that you did not receive the level of service that InterContinental Boston prides ourselves on rendering to our valued guests, such as yourself. Your experience was not our best performance and we know that we can do much better. We continue to be committed to providing you and all of our guests with the highest standards of service in the hospitality industry. It is not customary that we ask for our guests to sleep on the floor, under any circumstance, and we regret that this was even part of your conversation with our staff. Our Director of Front Office will have a meeting with the people involved and rest assured these types of occurrences will not happen again. Please contact our Director of Front Office, Carlos Orihuela, at 617.217.5171 as we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel and discuss your experience further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,552
    836
    198
    73
    65
See reviews for
847
1,275
185
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My hubby and I booked this hotel for a weekend away- what a fantastic location and trendy hotel! I highly recommend.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you sharing your experience at our property. We always love to hear from a guest who has had an exceptional experience and will be sure to share your comments and praise with our staff. As you mentioned, our prime location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay with us. We are within walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. Not only are we close to the subway, but during the warmer months the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport that many guests do not know about. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the Boston waterfront during your ride. It is wonderful to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

It was new when I went last year so it had some growing pains such as our room had a water leak in the shower that needed attending to. However, the hotel was classy, the gym was well equipped, the location was awesome, and the room was very nice. All in all it was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
It is delightful to hear that you had a wonderful experience overall at our property. We regret to hear about the issues you faced with the water leak in the shower and apologize for any inconveniences this challenge caused. will be sure to address that with our engineering team. It is great that you enjoyed our stylish state-of-the-art guestrooms and spa-like bathrooms. Our staff strives to maintain our property and provide our guest with the most pristine guestrooms and facilities to return to after a busy day out exploring Boston. One of the hotel’s best features is our location. We are within walking distance to many of Boston’s famous attractions such as Faneuil Hall and The New England Aquarium. Find out more about Boston the next time you visit with our Concierge team! InterContinental Boston stands out from our competition by delivering authentic and enriching experiences that bring Boston to life. Every concierge in our hotel will share their local knowledge, genuine insights and connections - so that you feel In The Know. We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I spend the first night of our honeymoon before heading to Jamaica at the InterContinental! This hotel is elegant and such a great experience. The hotel noticed that it was our honeymoon and gave us the Presidential Sweet for the night. The room quality amazed us! The bathroom was spacious, spotless, and really nice. They have beautiful accommodations and gorgeous views of Boston! We ordered room service and promptly got a delicious meal! This hotel is worth the money and if you are looking for a comfortable and accommodating stay in Boston this will be your place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Congratulations on your marriage! We are ecstatic to hear that we could provide you with an unforgettable experience on your special honeymoon night. Our staff truly tries to exceed guest expectations and we are delighted we were able to provide you with our most luxurious suite accommodations. Our 3,300 sq. ft. Presidential Suite with 2 bedrooms and 2.5 baths is the epitome of extravagance and perfect for your honeymoon night. We hope you had a wonderful rest of your honeymoon in Jamaica and will visit us again in the future with more time to explore our dynamic city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the InterContinental Boston for two nights in March. My husband was in the city on business so I tagged along. Check-in was seamless and we were in our room in no time. Our room was large, but the bathroom was even bigger! I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel at this price point with a bathroom this big. The linens were fresh and clean - and the king sized bed was cozy. Our room was facing into the u-shaped side so the view wasn't wonderful because it was looking at the roof. It was a very long walk from the elevator, but our room was the furthest so not like it's common place.

The location of the hotel is great! So close to downtown, but also not too noisy. The front door staff was outstanding and hailed us cabs in no time flat. They have a really nice lobby bar with a great patio that overlooks the water.

There were only a couple drawbacks that were very minor in my opinion. The pool hours weren't very late (closed at 8pm) and when I went the next morning it was packed with young children. If you're not a kid fan you'd probably not be thrilled with the morning I went. Although, the gym area around the pool was really amazing! So many machines and no line up to use them. We had to make a phone to the airline and it was $1 per minute to call a 1-800 number. Seems pricy, but most hotels at this level charge.

Overall, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend the same to anyone reading this review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water (inside of the u-shaped area in the middle of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank our2cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. It is great to hear you had a chance to visit our hotel with your husband and you both enjoyed your stay.Our staff strives to upkeep and maintain our facilities to exceed our guests expectations. We love hearing that you indulged in our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. Our bathrooms are laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience and we are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,052 - ₹ 44,651
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG and Prestigia so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing