We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really funny!”
Review of Improv Asylum

Improv Asylum
Ranked #4 of 38 Fun & Games in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Improv Asylum is a comedy theater that features improvisation and sketch comedy. We’ve been described as Whose Line is it Anyway? meets Saturday Night Live!. Improv Asylum is located in the heart of the North End, within short walking distance from Faneuil Hall and is easily accessible via public transportation. There is a $3.00 service charge per ticket on all phone orders. Advance ticket sales are recommended. We are a smoke-free establishment with no minimum drink requirement.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“really funny!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great way to spend a Saturday night...wander around the north end and culminate in the improv show. you will need to make reservations early...about a week in advance is usually safe.

Helpful?
Thank Magstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    58
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
221 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A fun take”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We love going here! It is often uproariously funny and sometimes it's not so funny, but even then it is a fun and different thing to do. The neighborhood is a great draw also and can leave there for some great food and pastry. We highly recommend this.

Helpful?
Thank whales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles de San Rafael, Spain
1 review
“Horrible attempt at improv”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Maybe because I'm based in Los Angeles I've come to expect good imprv. This was not it. I found Improv Asylum to be amateurish, uninspiring, bland and repetitious. It seemed like some of these people were so rough that surely they were auditioning for a group that would not make. But, no, later on we learned that this was in fact THE group - no auditions. And that some of these people had been doing it for a long time. You wouldn't never know it from the banal, dull, mostly witless droids walking around stage.

In fairness, maybe I caught them on a bad night. Make that a horrible night.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fun in North End”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Caught a 10pm show on a Saturday night. It was definitely the place to be. Easy to grab dinner before in the north end and then hit the improv asylum. Small theater - not a bad seat and pretty funny without being crude.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Pathetic!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

It's just after 9pm 28th Oct 2011 and I am back at my hotel because I could not bear to watch the 2nd half!!!!!! This show was really very poor for a place that seems to have such rave reviews. The entire show felt scripted, the jokes were lame and audience participants seemed like they were planted. The "comics" reminded me of "psychics" who just lead you on and only stop when you say what they want. For $20+ I expected a lot more that "fart jokes". I'm 25 now and no longer find it funny just because some guy says "nipples"! I have seen dozens comedians in the UK and found this extremely disappointing and the humour very juvenile. This show was meant to be for adults and other than slipping the word f*** into it a dozen times there was nothing 18+ or grown up about it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Scorpiodancer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Improv Asylum also viewed

 

Been to Improv Asylum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing