We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for Boston Convention & Exhibition Center visitors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for Boston Convention & Exhibition Center visitors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is adjoined to the convention center, making it super easy to go back and forth between your convention and the hotel. The hotel itself is very clean, the service is lovely. The bar, Starbucks, and convenience shop in lobby are all great for grabbing what you need on the go. My only complaint was that it cost over $30 a night just to park at the hotel's garage.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenity373737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    931
    342
    106
    62
See reviews for
360
535
140
1,148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed at the Westin Boston waterfront recently for a company conference. Very good and extensive conference facilities. Rooms pretty standard but spacious and comfortable.
Nice gym and pool facilities. Great location. Convenient to city center and also easy access to airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Staff was mostly friendly and helpful but not up to what you think of as Westin standards. Exception was the maid and the room service waiter, both very, very helpful. Oddly noticeable was when passing staff in the lobby or surrounding areas, they did not acknowledge guests at all. A minor point but again, not expected at a Westin.

Location perfect if you are a convention goer but lousy for tourists as it is a mile before you get to anything to see or do.

O'Connors and Saucity food is fine but staff is not great. I got the feeling I was bothering the hostess at O'Connors by needing a reservation, and she seemed to not understand there was a large meeting letting out at lunchtime.

Rooms are standard but no fan in the bathroom and not much in the way of toilitries. I asked for a room with a view and was told yes, I would see the city from my window. I do - way past the roof of the convention center, which is my main view.

Low rating really has more to do with the internet. If lower priced hotels can offer free internet in the room, Westin can too. And if I'm going to pay for it, or have it provided free in the lobby, then i expect it to work continuously. I could not connect for up to an hour at a time, several diffrent instances throughtout the day. The concierge said she was not surprised by that, and gave me the number for the help desk. Luckily a guest in the lobby told me the City Bar connection was best.

I've traveled to various conferences for 12 years, and always look forward to staying at a Westin but this one was really a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, CT
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hoteL was clean, upscale, and had a nice lobby area. The room was spacious and clean. The only negative was that the noise from other room doors opening and closing was quite loud and disturbing to a light sleeper like me. The television didn't work and someone brought a new one right up after calling. The walk to Quincy Market and the aquarium is about 15 minutes but easy to find. The pool area was clean.

Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeysaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at the Westin "waterfront" in Boston in April 2012. For a hotel in this price range, I don't believe I've recieved less for my money. Huge embarassing failure would be an accurate description of this hotel in my opinion.

Lets begin with their deceptive title of "waterfront". Don't waste your time looking for this hotel near any waterfront. Start your search inland a few blocks. Don't hold out hope for any sort of waterview either.

The service from the front desk was terrible. We had difficulties checking in at the beginning as the front desk didn't my wife and I reserving the same dates that our email confirmed. Our room keys repeatedly failed, and if that wasn't frustrating enough, each time we went back to the front desk to politely ask for a re-key, we recieved a 5 minute lecture about we shouldn't store our key next to our magnets and cell phones as if I haven' stayed in a hotel prior to this business trip. On one event, the staff even refused to let me back in to the room after my room key failed for the second time. They claimed to not have my name in the computer, disregarding the fact that I had already recieved a new room key after the first one stopped working, and had provided them my name upon check in. The only options they presented to me were finding my wife somewhere out on the town because they claimed to only have her name, or wait in the lobby all day for her to return. What a joke. To me, this exhibited the problem solving abilities of the average 4th grade student.

Internet? Yes, internet like it's 1999. Stand around in he crowded noisy lobby with every other grumpy, dissapointed visitor that paid way too much money for a hotel room without internet. But after all, it's only 2012 and internet is still a pretty new fad. The excitement will likely pass in time.

Couple these issues with the fact that the rooms offer less than a standard economy motel, and you've got a really efficient way of wasting your earnings. Save yourself a headache and if you're going to drop $200+ on a hotel room, stay in a place that is actually waterfront, or has competent, trained staff, or provides those fancy luxuries like internet access.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveAssistant32, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your comments and I'm terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations. I hope you with give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and consider staying with us in the future. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide a more enjoyable stay for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#61 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Property: The Westin Boston Waterfront
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,482 - ₹ 33,828
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing