We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
READING
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location. The orange T-line is right down the block & it is close to everything. The rooms are small but clean and we didn't spend much time in the room except to sleep. The price was good but could have been cheaper. Like some of the other reviewers, we stayed there on a popular weekend - the 100th anniversary of Fenway Park. Would recommend this hotel to visitors not looking for luxury but convenience. They just added new signs which helped to the find the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkatobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    843
    319
    118
    70
See reviews for
368
809
211
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was only in Boston 1 night and this hotel was in a perfect location for me. It is right off the Mass Turn Pike and easy to get to. The staff was friendly and very helpful when needed. The room was a little small but we didn't spend much time there anyways. My only complaint would be that the walls are paper thin. We heard the people in the room next door get up and out early the next morning and could very clearly hear the traffic on the street below. Overall, this is a good hotel for the price and is in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback on our property. We take a lot of pride in how wonderful our location is! We are conveniently located right in the middle of all major tourist atractions. We would love to have you back and be sure to find you a larger, quiter accomodation.

All the Best,

Meaghan Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
307 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Visited this hotel a couple months ago, but did not get around to writing until today as work has kept me quite busy.

This hotel is a hidden gem in Boston. It is housed in the an old YWCA building, but the hotel has been completely renovated transforming it into a cute boutique hotel. The location is fantastic and there are a ton of restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms can be a little smaller, but for me it was fine. I believe that they may have larger rooms, but I did not feel the need to upgrade. The price was great compared to other hotels in the same area. I felt very safe and the staff was friendly and helpful.

I will be staying here again on my next trip to central Boston!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
We look forward to your next visit! As "crazyhotelguy", I'm sureyou do a good amount of traveling. We are so happy that we were able to offer you everything you hoped for during your stay. We hope to see you soon!

Meaghan Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the marathon, so I paid a premium for the room, which is very small. Room was clean, but there's only a tiny shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries. Being in such a great spot, in Boston's Back Bay, and close to everything, made up for the small room, but there are hotels on every corner, so you do have a choice. If not for the location, I would only give it 2 stars.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
We are thrilled to have so many of the marathon runners and their families stay with us each year! We are right near the finish line which is exciting for us and convenient for our guests. We would love to do whatever we can to choose a room that better fits your needs when you revisit us in the future. Thanks so much for your feedback.

All the best,

Meaghan Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I've stayed here the last two years for the Boston Marathon, and I'll stay here again next year. Yes, the rooms are small, but really, how much time to do you spend there?? Place is clean and location in the heart of Back Bay is phenomenal. Just a block or two from the Back Bay T station and within walking distance to everything else. Fridge in every room; secure, key-operated elevators; and a friendly, helpful staff. No complaints at all, especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gruecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,568 - ₹ 30,356
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing