We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value in the Back Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 140

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Value in the Back Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Relatively small room but perfectly adequate for 1 person. Very clean (and I did check for bedbugs). Exceptionally helpful, pleasant and courteous front desk staff. Good location - half a block from a T station, and within reasonable walking distance to the Theatre district. One minor complaint - no ledge in the shower stall for soap & shampoo/conditioner bottles. I had to store these on the top of the shower walls, which is not a problem if you're 6'2" like me, but if you're 5'2" you'll probably have to reach down to the floor to retrieve these things.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    819
    302
    110
    66
See reviews for
351
790
206
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend on a holiday to Boston. I would highly recommend this hotel, we were delighted we chose to stay here. Location was perfect for exploring Boston. Room was spacious and bed extremely comfortable - great nights sleep. The room was very clean and quiet. The best thing however was the staff, they were so friendly, helpful and accomodating - especially Israel and Joe. They really made us feel at home and wanted to help in any way they could. This led to a homely, relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone, no negatives

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear KR,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you found your room to be spacious and bed comfortable. But we are most thrilled that you enjoyed the great service provided by Israel and Joe. It is such a generous compliment to see these professionals mentioned by name within this forum and their hard work recognized.

Thank you!

Cheers,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

a big THANK YOU to Staff at Hotel 140 for being so kind, making us feel so welcome, and going the extra mile in helping my wife and I celebrate our 30th anniversary!

Room Tip: the one we were in was small, but fine. ours had no bathroom, only a shower - you may want to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Greg B.

You are most welcome. Again, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!

Cheers,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went to Boston for a 1 night get-away and Hotel 140 was perfect. Location was convenien (right off 90), public parking was right next door and we walked to the T, dinner, and the theatre. The staff was kind and thorough. Although a little on the warm side with the air on (we tend to like it cooler than others though) the room was just right. Simple, clean, with the appropriate amenities for a nice stay. Highly recommended for last-minute, affordable nights out!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Front Office Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your kind response after your recent stay at Hotel 140. You are absolutely right when you say we are the perfect option for that spontaneous 1 night get-a-way. Our staff is warm and professional and our location can’t be beat as we are in the heart of downtown Boston. We hope that you will always choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you to the Boston area.

Abraxas Mason,
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel was booked after BookIT.com cancelled the 3 times confirmed reservation with hotel Buckminister at really good price. The cancellation came less than 3 days before my departure for Boston. Although BookIT.com placed me in an impossible situation, they refused to adjust $150 in charges due to THEIR cancellation of the room that could not be cancelled according to their own policies. In fact, having wasted around 20 hrs of my time, they simply stopped answering my emails. Have never received the name and fax number of their CEO. No answer to my question as of why they advertised Hotel 140 as a 3 star hotel with outrageous daily rates. So, one suggestion I have is that you do not book anything via that despicable web site

As for the Hotel 140, it is a no star hotel, masquerading as a 3 star boutique hotel. It is located on a few floors of the YWCA building, in the very heart of Boston, seconds away from Copley Square. The location is unbeatable. The rest leaves much to be desired. Some of the rooms are quite adequate, while other have no closets or bedside tables, or anything other than a bed. The bathrooms are nice and clean and look like they have been recently remodeled. There are working telephones, small coffeemakers, some rooms have small refrigerators. WI-FI works well. The halls and elevators are singularly unpleasant.

The building has a few floors for low income housing and 3 floors they call "hotel 140".
The laundry machines and snack/drink machines are located at the 5-th floor - the low income housing residences, with predictable consequences - strange looking and acting persons, unpleasant smells, not clean machines. Nothing wrong with any of this, except for the fact of a clearly intended deception. It is no 3 star boutique hotel.

The elevators are working poorly, because they require the room key card. So, going from the 8-th floor to the 5-th floor is a never ending problem.The keys get demagnetized. The "hotel" has no bell boys - one front desk person operates the Hotel floors and the YWCA resident floors.The "hotel" provides NO services. They promise quarters and detergent for the laundry, but do not deliver even that. THREE DAYS in a raw - no quarters, no detergent, promises to have everything the next day, nothing the next day, no apologies. The "restaurant" on the first floor is a take out sandwich place with AWFUL food, overpriced 25 times over, and AWFUL service.

The "hotel" advertises their "unique" rooms, whose uniqueness consists in the presence or absence of mirrors, closets,and the space. My first room was a pencil box size and had no closet and no place to put clothes. It had no space around the double bed. AND IT WAS IMPOSSIBLY HOT. The second room was quite OK. but certainly had nothing to do with a 3 star hotel.

Some of the staff are more helpful than others.Israel was very helpful. If you need any help, look for the Property Manager or the Hotel Manager, try to bypass the floor/Assistant manager. .

It is OK to stay there for a 1-3 nights, if you get an OK rate for a normal size room, and if you do not have to go to the 5-th floor. Do not eat in that "restaurant" at the 1-st floor, if you do not want to get sick, as I did on the day of my flight.

THEIR RATES ARE SIMPLY OUTRAGEOUS FOR MIXED HOUSING "HOTEL". THAT CANNOT HAVE ANY STARS.

The location is very good, of course. And the rooms themselves are very clean

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank movingtoEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Miss MovingtoEquador,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel 140 and 40 Berkeley on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to hear that BookIt.com, which is a completely separate 3rd party vendor, experienced some confusion with your stay. That having been said, we are delighted we were able to help accommodate part of your stay, especially during such a busy time in Boston when most hotels had been booked well in advance. Please let me know if you would like me to reach out to Bookit.com on your behalf. I believe you already have my email address from our communication.

We are proud of our Trip Advisor Star rating, which is produced by Expedia and not manipulated by the Hotel at all. We also JUST received our AAA Star rating for 2012. These ratings are standardized across the US and based on anything from amenities to rates to square footage of guest rooms to guest reviews. Also included in the Star-Rating is that each room has some storage options for clothing, all rooms have refrigerators and coffee makers and the excellent security provided by needing your guest room key to operate the elevator.

I am delighted that you enjoyed us so much that you wanted to extend your visit with us. I am so sorry were completely sold out, as we truly would have loved to accommodate your entire visit to Boston.

Warmest Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,089 - ₹ 30,825
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing