We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Encore, encore - we certainly shall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Encore, encore - we certainly shall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had the pleasure of spending the Christmas holidays at Encore and our eight night stay could not have been better. A perfect location in the South End just where West Newton Street meets Tremont Street, so an easy walk to great places to eat and drink and also a short walk to the "T" at Prudential and Back Bay for getting around Boston. The "Stephen Sondheim" room was large and comfortable. Reinhold's breakfasts are worth getting up early for. He is a mine of excellent local information about restaurants - "647 Tremont" was a great recommendation. "Encore" we certainly shall when next in Boston.

Room Tip: All the rooms have theatrical connections, so you can pick a favourite composer or writer to stay wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lycomedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    83
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
465
68
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We enjoyed our second stay at Encore a few weeks ago. We did look forward to another visit and it was great to see Reinhold again. The breakfasts are delicious and one can customize according to your appetite which is a very nice touch. The rooms are beautifully decorated with modern furnishings and the beds are very comfortable.
It's within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theather, just about anything you'd like to experience in Boston. It is the best location and place to stay in central Boston.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We spent a long weekend in Boston and really loved staying at Encore B&B in the 'Jerome Robbins' room.

The house and room were beautifully decorated, with Aveda products in the bathroom and a delicious breakfast every morning. Reinhold even shared his grandmother's recipe for making perfect soft boiled eggs! The South End neighborhood is walking distance to restaurants, theater and many sights, and close to the Back Bay transit and train station.

We highly recommend Encore B&B for anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay in Boston, and it's an excellent alternative to generic high rise hotels.

Room Tip: One tip if you like to sleep late, the lovely Robbins room is near the breakfast area and you may at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay Encore. The location was excellent, lovely street. The room was clean, spacious, nicely furnished, had a comfortable bed. My only suggestion to improve it is to provide additional lighting inside the wardrobe. The breakfasts were excellent, especially enjoyed the scones and brioche. The hosts, Reinhold and David were very nice and they obviously know the area very well and have suggested very good restaurants. They also made my first experience of a North American Halloween something to remember. They invited guests to join them out on the steps (with a nice glass of wine) while they distributed treats to children in varied costumes. I would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mab-at-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinholdamBoston, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Maria. First thank you for a great review; of course we love to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are allways happy to share the Haloween experience especially in our neighborhood with our guests, because it is the least thing somebody from abroad expects to happen in this country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We recently spent a week in Boston at 'Encore'. The room was comfortable and very clean with a private bathroom. Reinhold was a great host and most helpful. Encore is conveniently located to Back Bay Station and the restaurants on Tremont and Newberry Streets. We would reccomend Encore to our friends and family and would not hesitate to at Encore in the future.

Kathryn Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinholdamBoston, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for taking the effort to share your experience at Encore. This was a record year for us from visitors from Australia. We are sure your review will help them coming to Boston and eventually to Encore! Tell your friends we just got one of the highest rankings by London's Daily Telegraph too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Encore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,031 - ₹ 18,746
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing