We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pastry shop in the North End”

Maria's Pastry Shop
Ranked #6 of 148 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: North End
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: North End
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The pastry shop in the North End”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Maria's is the "real deal" of Italian pastry shops. The biscotti is so very good. They don't fill the cannoli until you place your order it so it doesn't get soggy. A tiny place but it's filled with the most delicious fare.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank adcampanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    50
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greene, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pastries to die for......”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was recently introduced to 'Maria's' and I can't wait to go back! I bought a ricotta pie to take to a friends home for dinner and it is so creamy and wonderful.....LOVE it! I had a freshly filled cannoli - the ricotta filling was fantastic! And I brought home the Italian anise cookies for my husband, which were the best! You will not be disappointed if you are a lover of fine Italian pastries! No long lines, walk in and walk out with your pastry delights!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HillFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Andrew Zimmern was right- this is far better than Mikes!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Andrew Zimmern- Host of the show 'Bizarre Foods', traveled to Boston recently and advised his viewers to pass on the touristy spot of Mike's Pastry and try Maria's instead. Best canoli I have ever had. We also had cookies, lobster tail, neopoleons and tiramisu. All outstanding.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SewFine802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quiet Corner, CT
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Chocolate Torrone is the BEST you'll have.”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I am never disappointed by Maria's pastry. This is one of the best pastry shops in Boston-- the chocolate torrone is not to be missed. The pasticiotti is also fantastic-- we got the ricotta filled one with powdered sugar on top. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KraZ4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I really enjoy going into Maria's pastry shop in the North End of Boston. Its not full of tourists and the desserts that she makes is equal if not better than any of the other Italian pastry shops in the North End. She is from Italy, speaks Italian and English. I love her freshly filled Conolli's and her home made nouget ( torrone) are amazing. DOnt stand in those long lines, go there for delicious pastries!!! IM a local and go there all the time..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria's Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing