We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy coffeehouse”
Review of Thinking Cup

Thinking Cup
Ranked #1 of 137 Coffee & Tea in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Thinking Cup is pleased to be the first coffee shop in Downtown Boston to serve "Stumptown Coffee" exclusively. Stumptown, originating in Portland Oregon had been named “Best Coffee in the World” by NPR, The New York Times, Food & Wine Magazine, and USA Today. To ensure exceptional quality and freshness we obtain our beans directly from Stumptown’s roasting facility in Brooklyn, New York.Opening its doors in December 2010, Thinking Cup is ideally located just steps from the Boston Common. We are committed to providing the premier coffee experience in Boston by serving only the finest coffees, teas, and freshly baked pastries. Was awarded Best Coffee Shop in Boston by Boston Magazine for 2011.
Dana Point, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cozy coffeehouse”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

great pastries and coffee and the clam chowder smelled delicious. tiny tables. on Tremont St accross from the Boston Common.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    133
    47
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get the hazelnut latte!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hazelnut latte was amazing! You can taste the actual pieces of hazelnut. It was so good that I had two yesterday and I'm about to go back for another shortly before I leave Boston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee, Great Food, and Efficient Service”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Can't get much better than that. Stumbled upon this gem while I was convinced that NYC had all of the good cafes that weren't Starbucks. The only gripes I have is that sitting isn't the most comfortable thing in the world and there is no Wi-Fi - I wonder if this is to keep people going in and out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JordPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex,NC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Coffee and Cupcakes”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

On a cold March at noon we popped into this cafe across from Boston Commons. Clearly full of locals the coffee was freshly ground and made and the pastry were all just out of the oven. One of us had a turkey sandwich on very nice cranberry apple bread.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Italy05with5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Glad we tried”
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Read reviews and made a mental note that we had to go while we were in the city.One day we walked half hr to visit the Thinking Cup and we were glad we did.After reading the reviews before hand we got the hot chocolate and hazelnut latte.Both were very good, not the best I ever had but very good.The place is quaint and must be difficult when very busy.I don't think I would go out of my way to go here again, if we were walking by maybe.Glad we tried but I would maybe try new place next time.

Helpful?
Thank Arielblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thinking Cup also viewed

 

Been to Thinking Cup? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing