We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to spend a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a night”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at Ames for a night in Boston. What a fabulous place!! A real boutique hotel that was incredibly clean, amazingly friendly staff, great bar, terrific location ........ A real Five Star hotel in every way. Most comfortable bed in a hotel ever, great shower and again it is worth repeating ---the cleanest ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thanks so much, Jeff! I hope you'll be back to us soon, please feel free to email me at nina dot sweet at mhgc dot com if I can help with future bookings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    459
    156
    75
    28
See reviews for
217
701
95
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Modern chic hotel steps away from the Freedom Trail and Metro. The hotel is walking distance from all downtown attractions, restaurants including the North End. I recommend this hotel but one reason for writing this review is be aware of the parking situation. Major downsid, $42 per day to park. They have no parking of their own so no telling where they take guest's automobiles. We chose not to pay their tariff and instead parked around the corner at the PI Parking structure for less than half what the hotel charges.

Room Tip: Try to get as high a floor as possible due to possible street noise during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hma8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We also park our cars in Pi Alley, and the valet cost of $42 per night is standard in the city of Boston. You can always choose to self park, and we recommend Pi Alley for that, but during the week their parking is $38 per night and you don't get unlimited in and out privileges like you would if you valeted. The parking on the weekends is a bit cheaper, but you have to be within a certain number of hours, in by a certain time, and out by a certain time. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the Ames as part of our 40th anniversary trip. This property is a modern in design, old school in their service and attentive to any need you might have. The location is wonderful to see all the sights of Boston

Room Tip: Great Views from 4th floor corner with the huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOROTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Happy Anniversary! Please come back next year. Thank you for your review and for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

There are lots of options for affordable upscale accommodation in Boston. Ames is convenoently located near the State Street T station, if you are taking the Blue Line from Logan Airport. The room is a decent size, the bathroom is spacious (though they need safety grips in the shower stall floor). The staff is very helpful. The only 2 issues I had were: the breakfast was below average in terms of selection; getting a taxi in front of the hotel was a major challenge on both occasions I needed to. There are a bunch of taxes (inlcuding a Convention Center tax) which bumps up the bill. So, it's fair ti say the overall experience was "good" but not great if you look at value for money.

Room Tip: You can get a peek of the harbor from the room that I was in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thanks for your review! Unfortunately, Taxachusetts as a nickname for our state is a bit true. I'm glad you found our location to be conveniently located. I hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Very impressed by this place. Book early to get a larger room, Loft rooms are fantastic for the price. The restaurant food is a bit limited to be honest but the bar is great for a quick drink before venturing out for dinner. The location is excellent for business travellers and tourists alike. Go there - it's great!

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gareth3429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thanks so much Gareth! I'm very glad that you had a great stay with us - the cocktails in Woodward are great! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,113 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,596 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,066 - ₹ 42,671
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing