We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, nothing else is like this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Wonderful, nothing else is like this place”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We had a nice time at the Green Turtle. Our stay was great. The room was elegant and spotless clean. The bed was very comfortable. The view of the Boston skyline is right there while you look out the window or sit and relax on the dock. A short walk brought us next to the USS Constitution and we took the "T" water ferry right over to the Aquarium and spent time at Faneuil Hall / Quincy Market shopping and sight seeing. But the best time was relaxing at the Green Turtle. Our innkeepers were very gracious and all our needs were taken care of. Boston is a city full of history and interesting sights which we have visited many times but we have never experienced from this unique marina setting.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjgag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
384
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

What an exciting & different place for a "getaway". So many things to do---tour Boston or charter a boat to go deep sea fishing. Or just relax on the pier as we did. The room was elegant and comfortable. The Innkeepers were very friendly and made you feel right at home. I would definitely go back again. By the way, if need be, there is a water taxi from Logan Airport.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The Green Turtle is exactly what it says a floating bed and breakfast. The facilities are first class from the quality of the breakfast, the bedroom sitting room kitchenette and bathroom. Each of the two rooms available are separated by a hall way which means you do not know your neighbours are there if you do not want to. The availability of WIFI is a plus. The breakfast is excellent and varied daily.
The room was cleaned daily and fridge, coffee, snacks, etc. replenished.
The view of the harbour and nearby city downtown is fantastic and most city hotels would fail to match it. You can relax on the marina and watch the ships and yachts go by if you so wish. The location is perfect for exploring Boston. It is near enough to walk to the T or take a water taxi and far enough to be out of the busy city centre environment.
Probably the best thing about the Green Turtle are the people, not just John, Karen, Mary and Artie but all the residents and guests on the marina who make you feel and home and part of their community. This is customer service at its best.
If you worry about movement on a house boat this is a minor issue given its mooring and the bed is so luxurious that any motion is eliminated.
We stayed for 10 nights and cannot praise the Green Turtle and its owners enough. The overall marina facility is secure and safe.
If you are planning on visiting the Boston area then this is the perfect location and worth every penny.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMajella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Eye Candy ! When you arrive at the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast you are instantly greeted with the fragrant scents from the many flowers. The dock plantings and window boxes are adorned with all types of flowering plants. From this magical moment you know you can let out a deep breath and let relaxation kick in.Upon entering your suite you are consumed with the owners attention to details. The suites are done very tastefully and it is translated into comfort. Not only are the bed linens and bath towels of a very high quality, but the bed its self. It is on a par with quality beds in the finest European Hotels. Comforters and plush blankets were provided during our stay as we had a few days of inclement weather.

Nightime brought fresh ocean breezes thru our open windows. Mornings were enjoyed sipping gourmet coffee on our deck chairs and watching the ever changing harbor scene. Fresh pastries, muffins and cut up fruit are delivered outside your suite daily. The rooms are well stocked with snacks,juices, spring waters and assorted teas.

We could go on and on but will end this review with a WOW! Looking forward to Many return trips to "our little get -a -way on the water."

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed on the Sea Turtle/Loggerhead houseboat for 2 nights in September.

The owners were very helpful and the houseboat was very well equipped with lovely fluffy towels, great bed and bed linen etc. A great breakfast was delivered to the door each morning with papers and "what's on" guides. Everything was new, clean and of a very high standard.

What would have been a fantastic view of the harbour and downtown Boston was, unfortunately spoilt by the fact that 2 enormous yachts has berthed just in front of us to escape Hurricane Kyle. Unlucky.

The only possible downside was the distance from downtown Boston - it's a 10 minute walk to the ferry which takes you to Long Wharf every 30 minutes or £$20 water taxi ride. You can walk it from the North End - probably 30 minutes. All of this wouldn't have mattered too much but the weather was awful - it poured the whole visit! Fortunately the houseboat was a great place to sit out the storm and the umbrellas came in very handy!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saf_london_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,786 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#46 of 83 in Boston
7,551 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 38 in Boston
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Pier 8 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,421
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing