We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!”

James Hook & Company
Ranked #16 of 3,454 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Grabbed a lobster roll and cup of clam chowder. So so so good. It's not cheap, but totally worth the cost. The weather was pretty nice so I sat outside and enjoyed the sun while enjoying my meal. Definitely worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We're glad you could enjoy the view and weather with a lobster roll and clam chowder. Thanks for visiting! We're looking forward to the next time you head our way.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Stopped in late afternoon for a snack after our trolley tour . The restaurant is a construction trailer dolled up. Live lobster tanks, tables r sparse, deli drink cooler, fresh seafood display case. We shared a large lobster roll which was enough for a small snack price 22.99. I added old bay to my roll to jazz it up.id pass this up and go to another place.

Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for stopping by, Sharon. We wish our lobster roll had impressed a little more this afternoon. We build our roll the classic way: fresh lobster with just a touch of mayo on a toasted bun. We believe this way brings out the best in the the lobster, but we understand tastes differ, and we're always happy to build your roll how you want it. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you even more the next time you're in town.

Sincerely,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

I had the lobster roll which I thought was a good size lobster roll compared to others I have had in Boston. If there is something negative about the roll it's that it probably could have used a little more salt and pepper. The New England clam chowder was to die for. Definitely one of the best I've ever had. The place is pricey for the atmosphere but so is everything else in Boston.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

We're thrilled both our lobster roll and clam chowder proved to be the best in town! Thank you for coming by -- we hope you get the chance to visit us again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The lobster roll that I tried was decent but it wasn't very big compared to others I have had in the area. It was also served cold, which I didn't like as much. Probably won't go back there.

Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

It's unfortunate that you felt your lobster roll was a little lacking, Rachel. We build our roll the classic way: cold lobster with a touch of mayo packed inside a toasted bun. That said, we're always happy to build the roll how you want it, and we hope to find the perfect match for you should you visit again.

Sincerely,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Ordered lobsters, clams, and bisque for delivery overnight to IL for Valentine’s dinner. Absolutely loved the service and the seafood was delicious and outstanding! Highly recommend James Hook!

Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We're happy we could help make this Valentine's Day dinner a special one with our lobsters, clams, and bisque, Kris. Thanks for reaching out to us! We hope to hear from you again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Hook & Company also viewed

 

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing