We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok lobster roll”

James Hook & Company
Ranked #15 of 3,585 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The lobster roll that I tried was decent but it wasn't very big compared to others I have had in the area. It was also served cold, which I didn't like as much. Probably won't go back there.

Thank RachelB803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

It's unfortunate that you felt your lobster roll was a little lacking, Rachel. We build our roll the classic way: cold lobster with a touch of mayo packed inside a toasted bun. That said, we're always happy to build the roll how you want it, and we hope to find the perfect match for you should you visit again.

Sincerely,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 140 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Ordered lobsters, clams, and bisque for delivery overnight to IL for Valentine’s dinner. Absolutely loved the service and the seafood was delicious and outstanding! Highly recommend James Hook!

Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We're happy we could help make this Valentine's Day dinner a special one with our lobsters, clams, and bisque, Kris. Thanks for reaching out to us! We hope to hear from you again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Best lobster roll in town! One of the oldest in the city, serving fresh & live lobster. The place is small & tight, most people come for take away.

Thank betheeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We're thrilled our lobster roll continues to be the talk of the town! Thanks for the praise and support -- we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

I was told i had to pop in to this little gem for a lobster roll, so i did!! I had a lobster roll and clam chowder and they were amazing!! Im so glad i came, i even returned the next day for another one! It was a bit busy but worth the wait

1  Thank RebeccaRepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

We're glad you found us for a roll and some chowder, Rebecca -- sounds like you couldn't get enough! Thank you for coming out to see us. We hope you make it back our way again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

OMG! Their lobster roll is amazing!! This was my first time in Boston and I was told I had to get a lobster roll. The Old Town Trolly tour guide mentioned this place had the best! I’m going to have to go back and get another tomorrow, since it was so delicious!!

Thank SRat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

We're happy to hear you came back for seconds -- thanks for stopping by! We hope you make it back our way again the next time you're in town.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Hook & Company also viewed

 

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing