We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

James Hook & Company
Ranked #14 of 3,583 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

I was told i had to pop in to this little gem for a lobster roll, so i did!! I had a lobster roll and clam chowder and they were amazing!! Im so glad i came, i even returned the next day for another one! It was a bit busy but worth the wait

1  Thank RebeccaRepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

We're glad you found us for a roll and some chowder, Rebecca -- sounds like you couldn't get enough! Thank you for coming out to see us. We hope you make it back our way again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 142 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

OMG! Their lobster roll is amazing!! This was my first time in Boston and I was told I had to get a lobster roll. The Old Town Trolly tour guide mentioned this place had the best! I’m going to have to go back and get another tomorrow, since it was so delicious!!

Thank SRat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

We're happy to hear you came back for seconds -- thanks for stopping by! We hope you make it back our way again the next time you're in town.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I don't even care that it was super crowded, cramped and basically standing room only. It was WELL WORTH IT for an infamous lobster roll. (I'm from Kentucky). In addition to a regular-sized lobster roll, I got a bowl of fish chowder, which was delicious! You could tell the fish was fresh! I'm definitely going to go back and I'm going to get the large lobster roll!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

We're thrilled our lobster roll was worth the trip, Kelly -- thanks for stopping by! Looking forward to your return for that large lobster roll.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

I've been to James Hook several times because there is not a better lobster roll around anywhere. You know it's fresh because live lobster are driven in every morning from Maine. After that, it's a question of the bun and what goes in it. They don't mess around with lettuce or anything else other than a touch of mayo and a little celery. This recipe works as it's a perfect combination of all meats from the lobster and a bun with the right amount of butter The regular size in a nice lunch and the large is great if you're really hungry. Even if the line looks big, it moves fast. That shouldn't be a concern.

In the cold season, you don't want to eat outside and inside seating is limited. You can bring it back to the office or wait for a spot inside. There are other things on the menu and a seafood store to go with it. I have never ordered anything else. It's a lobster roll place and most people just order the lobster roll. I'd rank it #1 lobster roll in the Boston area ahead of Kelly's and Lukes (both very good alternatives).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BostonBruins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

You're absolutely right -- we build our lobster roll the classic way. We're thrilled you think it's the best in Boston! Thank you for the support. We hope to have you stop by again soon.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This place is amazing. We stopped here once before and it was to busy, so we went to Legal Seafood, huge mistake. These lobsta rolls were off the chart. Super big and sooo tasty. Not a fancy place by any means, but screw that it's great. This will definitely be a go to place on every visit back to Boston. Service was also very good. Friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 972michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at James Hook & Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We're glad you guys had the chance to finally give our lobstah rolls a go, Michaela. Sounds like they really impressed! Thanks for visiting -- we'll see you again the next time you're in town.

All the best,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Hook & Company also viewed

 

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing