We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasteful decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very tasteful decor”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at Clarendon Square for 5 nights. We were a little rocked by the cost when we first enquired but we quickly discovered that it is on a par with the rest of Boston.
Our room was small but beautifully decorated and with good closet and drawer space we were able to keep everything tidy as we like. I used the lounge on one occasion for a while.
The breakfasts were very good and it was lovely to talk to Bobby, Steven and Lydo who were knowledgeable and interesting. Bobby makes the best coffee and is a darling.
It is really convenient to many very good restaurants and we enjoyed not having to walk far for dinner.
All in all it was a great place to stay. There were a couple of little details missing like tissues in the rooms, and no ability to make coffee or tea out of breakfast hours. However I would recommend it in a city where everything is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    45
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
307
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in Oct on a trip to New England. Its lovely.
Location - perfect, in a smart neighbourhood with lots of bars/restaurants/shops within a few minutes walk. Its a very clean neighbourhood and its a few minutes walk from the Back Bay T which enables you to get around the whole city easily. Its also just 5 minutes walk to Copley Square, Prudential Centre, the fab shops/restaurants on Newbury Street - and just a bit further if you want to walk to Boston Common.
Guesthouse - beautiful and very clean. We had the basement room - it has no windows but we knew that before we booked. If you are on a budget it's an ideal room. If you have a bit of spare cash, spend a little more and have a higher priced room. Breakfasts are fab with plenty of choice and a high standard of food. General areas throughout the guesthouse for the guests are fab - the rooftop is great with fab views of the city skyline and the lovely hot tub - nice touch.
Its really lovely and you will really be hard pushed to find somewhere better in this beautiful city - look no further, book this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We only met the staff during our 3 night stay very professional and friendly. The chance to stay in a brown stone was what we were after and the Clarendon delivers in many ways the house has been lovingly and professionally restored and has a lovely atmosphere. It also gave us the chance to meet fellow travellers and exchange tips about Boston. A wonderful experiance, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

A truly top-shelf place. Modern, sophisticated decor. Immaculate. Enormous room (stayed in the Luxury Suite). One of the nicest bathrooms I've seen. A comfy, cozy bed. Great amenities. Delicious continental breakfast (the innkeeper makes a killer latte). Very gracious hosts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Luxury Suite was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Loved it. My husband and I had a great 2-night stay at the Clarendon Square Inn over Labor Day weekend as our last vacation before our baby arrives. The inn keepers were fantastic (kind & detailed), the renovated house was so charming (immaculate with fabulous decor) and the breakfast was awesome (nice fresh variety)! Great location for walking to metro stations, restaurants, shopping, and great Boston sights.Would definitely stay here again and recommend to all Boston travelers!

Room Tip: All rooms have a unique and sophisticated theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,305 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,219 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,596 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,050 - ₹ 28,555
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing