We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice hotel in a very nice location.
Clean, friendly staff.
One of the best hotel in Boston.
Fantastic Rooms and Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aahendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 535 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed here several times on business, the last being March 2012.

The hotel is in the middle of the action on Boylston, and a couple of blocks over from Newbury. Like most times, I stayed just overnight this last time. The room is large and very new...with auto controls for everything from a touchscreen by the bed. The bathroom is very large with a separate shower and bath tub. I even managed to use the yoga mat to do some surya namaskars before heading out for drinks this last time. The beds are large and very comfortable...makes it hard to get out for meetings in the morning.

I have been in the bar a couple of times, when sorta snowed in and the barkeeps are always entertaining and make good drinks. I have had breakfast here in the main resto and the service was good.

I have seen the gym a few times, but not been able to use it yet.

As mentioned earlier, there are a lot of great bars and restaurants within a short walk, which is a great plus.

The doormen are also very helpful and cheerful...always help to get a cab.

This is my go to place in Boston...over the Ritz, Taj or the Langham (all very good). I haven't stayed at the Four Seasons in Boston yet...and don't think I will.

If anything, the only negative is that I need to go to the Exchange Place area a lot for meetings and it's a 10 min drive at least.

Solid 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved staying in this hotel. The service and the staff are not to be compared with other hotels. This was our first time staying at Mandarin and after this experience we would like to try other locations to see if they all have the amazing service this one had. The location is also great, right by a shopping mall and very close to all restaurants. If you can afford it, I think it's the best hotel in this area and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAY1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My first, but will not be my last, stay at a Mandarin Oriental. Our room was upgraded at least two levels upon check-in, which never seems to happen when we stay at the FS. The room, bathroom and closet areas were all perfectly appointed. Extensive and welcome array of bathroom amenities. Wonderful shower.

Room service breakfast was prompt and the food was very good. Giant bucket of ice delivered upon request for this morning soda drinker. Housekeeping did a wonderful job and the carpets were very clean.

The very rainy weather caused us to eat at the hotel more than we would have otherwise, but all meals were great. We enjoyed drinks one night at the M Bar (fun cocktail menu) and dinner at Asana. I also ate lunch two days at Asana with visiting friends, and everyone enjoyed their meals. I was very impressed at how quickly the wait staff knew my name. Very attentive service. After the second lunch, we were encouraged to dine at the chef's table, but we had to depart Boston before dinner.

The hotel is attached to the elaborate Prudential Center/Copley Place which was very convenient for traveling blocks without going out in the rain. The hotel also opens onto Boylston so all shopping and many attractions/museums are a short walk away (Public Gardens, Beacon Hill, Public Library, Mapparium, etc).

Worth the price given all that is provided.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoreenKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Mandarin Oriental is the best luxury hotel in Boston that I have stayed in. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, and everything you need is included (particularly all the little things you might forget for the bathroom). Service is top notch, they remember your name, but not obtrusive. Great location in Back Bay - shopping and strolling are right out your front door. I have only stayed here for business, several times, so have not taken advantage of everything it has to offer, but I would recommend it over the Four Seasons for luxury accommodations in Boston.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 84 in Boston
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: ₹ 45,457 - ₹ 2,03,593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing