We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,438)
Filter reviews
4,438 results
Traveller rating
1,976
1,497
620
232
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,976
1,497
620
232
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location downtown crossing street level the theater district freedom trail south station state house guest rooms parking garage corner room fitness center faneuil hall quincy market few blocks king bed hotel restaurant north end
Filter
Updating list...
3,581 - 3,586 of 4,438 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed there from 7/5-7/10. We were on the 21st floor and liked our room. The hotel always smelled nice and looked clean. The staff we encountered were wonderful. We had 2 minor issues the day we checked in where our room keys did not work and someone had to come twice to fix the problem and there was a mixup where the person at the valet area left our luggage in the trunk of the car instead of bringing it up. Because of those things happening we were given a $150 voucher to use at the hotel restaurant. We liked all the meals we had at the restaurant and the 2 nights we did room service. We found the hotel to be pretty quiet as well. We had our dog with us and it is close to Boston Common so she had a nice place to do her business. A lot of attractions were in walking distance and sometimes if we were too tired to walk most cab rides cost about $10 from there. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynBeth6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed in one of the Lafayette Suites with wife and baby. Check-in was fine; room was OK but rather ordinary. Small mini-bar fridge with sensors absolutely packed with stuff - so no room for any personal storage eg. milk for baby. They initially wanted to charge us to bring up another fridge but relented in the end.

I must agree with another reviewer about the room service charges - automatic 18% gratuity plus a 'delivery fee' of about $4. It's either one or the other. Why don't they just add on a 'removal of plates fee' and 'dish washing fee' too. Breakfast was uninspiring with somewhat limited selection from the buffett but the service was good.

Unfortunately the same can't be said for housekeeping. As we were heading out for lunch, we met with one of the housekeepers who was cleaning a couple of doors down. Explained that we'll be back in 3 hours as the baby needs to sleep then. She said she'll clean our room next. Upon return 3 hours later, room not done yet and it seems like they were also done with this floor. If my baby wasn't asleep I would have called them back.

Check-out was also sub-par; she seemed annoyed that I asked a question about the invoice. In summary, I think you could definitely do better at a different hotel. Unfortunately for us, hotels in Boston were fully booked due to Graduation Week and also a number of conferences in town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Check your bill
Pros: great location, room service pizza is excellent.
Cons: starting to feel outdated, confusing entrance, very tall lumpy uncomfortable bed, heavy lumpy pillows, nickel and dime everything (sensor operated fridge which doesn't even refrigerate, gratuity automatically added to room service, no free wifi), useless cleaning staff (they swept crumbs under the ottoman), not enough water pressure, the gym is so far that you get your workout just getting there and back, very rude impolite staff (arrogant, and supervisors just as bad).
I'm surprised they don't charge to use the elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxxMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. We booked through expedia and we got a good rate. I must admit I was a bit disappointed in the overall stay. Front desk checknin staff was not cordial or hospitable at all. Our room was small unlike other reviews. We were on the 22 fl but no corner, so be aware all the rooms are not spacious. Location was good as we walked almost everywhere. So to sum this all up, this stay was just ok, nothing special. We would not stay here again, but liking or not liking this hotel really depend on your individual expectations in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabrinad652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We booked the hotel last minute for 4th of July holidays/anniversary celebration for 1 night. To avoid dealing with additional charges, we selected "Balance" package that (according to Hyatt's website) included breakfast, valet parking for hybrid car, 2 reusable bottles and tot bag. When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk discovered that there is a massage session added to our package which they "have never seen in their lives". I guessed that it might've been because it is our anniversary but they had no idea and it was just for one person. We did receive an upgrade to a suite from a corner room - it was a great gesture by the front desk person but massage has never materialized as it had to be booked in advance with an outside party...

The room was very nice and spacious with a good city views. Bedding is comfortable, bathroom amenities and towels of a standard Hyatt quality. Internet is $10 per day - even for Hyatt Gold program members. Buffet breakfast in the hotel - nothing extraordinary but good selection and good quality. Wait staff at breakfast - excellent! Dining at the only hotel restaurant was much better than expected. More on the gourmet side then your regular hotel restaurant dishes. Service in the restaurant - probably the best service in the whole hotel - very good! Health center: sauna did not work in the women's room, pool was overcrowded and had cold water, steam room - zero visibility (my husband slipped and cut his knee), no personnel at the pool or health center at all...

Back to the "mystery massage package" - I ended up calling front desk who asked me how they can make up for the massage that never happened and offered a bottle of wine or champagne with a cheese platter. I selected the wine and an hour later they brought a bottle of wine with some fruits (not cheeses) and asked for a signature and asked (yes) for tips (suggesting to change a big bill we had). At check-out time - $60 charge appeared on our bill for room service - they did take it off when I related the whole story about "massage" to them, but the fact itself does not play in the hotel management favor. And we never got the reusable bottles and a tot bag that was originally included in the hotel package - they told us that "each location is different and we don't have any bottles for you"...

Overall, the hotel staff seemed a bit clueless and unsure of how to serve customers. The location of the hotel is closer to Chinatown and Financial District. It is a walkable distance to the most attractions. Security within the hotel is not the best - if I was alone, as a female traveler, I would not feel safe entering the main entrance and then going to the 3rd floor on the elevator that did not have a secure hotel guest only card. If I had to stay in Boston again, I would pick a different place.

Room Tip: just ask for a room away from an elevator
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovePlanAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWFoster, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you for your review regarding your holiday stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. We appreciate you taking the time post a lengthy review; we have passed on your comments to hotel management to review & counsel our staff towards excellency. We are glad you were able to use some of the hotel amenities; with regards to the gym we have repaired the women’s sauna which was out of service for repair. We are sorry to hear that your husband hurt his knee in the steam room; though our gym is not staffed there are several emergency phones located throughout the pool area & gym area if a need arises. As for the mystery package; the package elements were incorrectly built in our computer system & the massage was not part of the package. As it was hotel error & we apologize for this issue. We have counseled the manager who sent up the amenity as this shouldn’t have been charged to your room.
On behalf of the Hyatt Regency Boston, we thank you for your review and we apologize for the service you received. If you could please contact us directly at qualitybosto@hyatt.com so that we can follow-up personally with regarding this stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews