We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice boutique hotel in a beautiful neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in a beautiful neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Other than the fact that the elevators smelled a little musty (which isn't really a problem because you don't spend a lot of time in the elevators), this was a very nice hotel. The room was clean and fresh, and the pillows/beds were very comfortable.

Our room had 2 double beds (a little smaller than queen beds), and the room was the size of a typical hotel room. By looking at the floorplan on the back of the door, we noticed that most of the other rooms on the floor were a lot bigger (more like suites, I suspect). However, we had plenty of space in our room.

We were in Boston on business, and typically stay in the financial district, but this time we decided to try staying in Back Bay. What a beautiful area! One block over, on Newbury Street, was block after block of trendy shopping and outdoor dining. You can easily take the subway or a taxi to the financial district, but the weather was nice so we walked. It was about a 35 minute walk, which we didn't mind since the weather was beautiful.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    289
    81
    37
    25
See reviews for
371
342
44
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

A very nice older style boutique hotel in a perfect location. Reminded me a little of the nice 3 star hotels in Paris but The Eliot was much larger. Beds were super comfy. We had a Suite that had 2 double beds and a large living room. The bathroom was marble tile: shower, walls and floor. Plenty of hot water. We were 2 couples and the space was more than adequate. I called the desk for extra towels and they were delivered promptly. Parking is $36. a night. I booked thru Bookit,com and got a $550. room for $335. including taxes. An easy walk to Fenway and the Public Gardens. Be sure to ride the beautiful Swan Boats; only $2.75./person. Room service coffee was $5. for a small pot but it was hot and very, very good. Three pots was plenty for 4 people. We did not have breakfast at the hotel restaurant (looked a little pricey). Went to the top of the Prudential instead and it was a special treat. Very elegant and moderately priced with a fantastic view of Boston. The best part was my boyfriend was asked to remove his baseball cap!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALovelyMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Wanted to stay in town for the Red Sox game (they won against the Oriels in last inning with questionable hommer..but yea!!) ANd ran into 2 conventions in town so after calling 10 hotels, LUCKED into getting the last 2 rooms they had for the one night!!! I usually stay at the Boston Harbor (LOVELY) but no availabilities there. We arrived at this quaint looking brownstoneish hotel in the back bay AND now have another favorite place in Boston!!! The location is absolutely fantastic being close to Newbury street and within walking distance of Fenway which was great for us. The lobby is small BUT who cares!!! We checked in fast and went straight to rooms at the 3:00 check in time. The rooms were spacious and the bed uber comfy!!! Great suite layout! Bathrooms were a little small but totally fit with the ambiance of the hotel!!! The staff was professional and warm and had we stayed longer, I'm sure we would have had a better scope of all they could offer! The treats in the room upon arrival were SWEET!!! Best cookie and gummies EVER!!! The street was busy and a bit noisy BUT I can honestly say that with the layout of the room, my sleep was VERY PEACEFUL! It was a quick stay BUT will be going back!!! It's a great place even with the kids because it is close to many things AND they have tvs in room as well as the sitting area! One room had a HUGE computer with touchscreen (free internet...nice...not sure why our other room didn't have the computer..). It was a great surprise to find such a treasure of a hotel at the last hour...and will stay here again!! Also good for romantic weekend because it's so close to soooo many fun places....within crawling distance if you know what I mean!!! Give it a try!!!

Room Tip: ask to be away from elevators if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were in Boston to see some Red Sox games, so we wanted to stay on back bay, near Fenway Park. This hotel is within walking distance of Fenway. It is a charming old brownstone building. All of the rooms are suites. We had a very comfortable king size bed and a nice sitting room with a couch and two chairs. The bathroom was tiny, but beautiful with Italian marble floors. It has a sushi bar and a restaurant, but we didn't try either. My only complaint was that even though we had the air conditioner set at 65, it was still too warm at night.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandmsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armonk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Spacious rooms and immaculate. Charming small boutique historic hotel and service very attentive. Excellent comfortable beds. Good value for Boston. Would definitely return when in Boston and would recommend hotel to friends and family.

Marilyn

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilynArmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,098 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,741 - ₹ 37,262
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing