We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's like going to home.”
other travellers have booked this property
sunset from Your livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sunset from Your livingroom
Your private entrance Your livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
sunset from Your livingroom
Your private entrance
Your livingroom
Your livingroom
Your livingroom
Your bedroom
Your bathroom
fountain on western (sunset) facing deck (during the summer)
sunset from deck
what our house looked like  in 1984.
house has changed a bit since 1984
south facing back deck & stairs leading to hiking trails
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
hammock in upper yard & hiking trail returning to house
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
Babbling brook swing
babbling brook after it's rained
another sunset from Your livingroom
bit of Fall color
view across French Broad River valley from Inspiration Swing
one of the several swings on our loop walk in the woods.
sunset Inspiration Swing
Sunny 1yr 3/28/16
Sunny age 3 our 3/4 Anatolian Shepherd 1/4 Great Pyrenees. Loves taking guests on walks in the woods
The View out your bedroom window 8/10/18
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Miguel A...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's like going to home.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The best part of going to North Carolina was staying with Gary and Sharon. They were great hosts and they really made us feel at home, not just that, they took us in and it really felt like they were taking care of us. I can honestly say that I would look forward to having a morning coffee and a chat to start my day. The place was great, with its many flowers and paths just outside the house. And Shadow and Sunny are invaluable to the Sunset Sweet. If I have the option to stay at this great bed and breakfast, I won't even think about it. You get so much more than just a place to stay. You get a place that warms your heart when you look back.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people and the pets as well as the hikes in the morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghurleya
Seagrove, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Best Anniversary”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I'm a little late on the review been really busy. But this is great place to stay, such a lovely place, and we plan on saying again in the near future. We were served great breakfast, and the yogurt is the best we ever had. We didn't get to walk their trails, but we spent every night in downtown Asheville. We had a blast, and came "home" to what felt like home, and not having any A/C was no problem it felt great, no complaints. They are fun to talk with and great company. We look forward to coming back again! We highly suggest you staying here!

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three nights in paradise!!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I HIGHTLY recommend Sunset Sweet to anyone who is travelling to Asheville. Not only is the property incredible (it includes hiking trails, gardens, and fabulous views), Gary and Sharon are amazing! My husband and I felt like we were staying with friends, not people we had just met. Shadow, the most gently dog you will ever meet, made us feel right at home too. Every time we returned from one of our adventures she was waiting for us in the driveway. Our only complaint is that our visit wasn't long enough!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the people!
Liked least: I can honestly think of nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory R
1 review
“Excellent place for a stay in the mountains”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Sharon and Gary were excellent hosts and incredibly knowledgeable about the options for exploring Asheville and the surrounding areas. If it were not for their suggestions and ideas on what to check out we would have not had as good of a time during our stay. The breakfasts were excellent and the garden surrounding the property was a great thing to enjoy on our mornings at the house.

One thing of note, is that while your room and space are private, it is in the couple's home. We were not aware of that before booking.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF24680
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
“Quiet and Relaxing Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sharon and Gary are a very hospitable and nice couple who make their guests feel welcome and at home. Their property is beautiful and is in good proximity of downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and various hiking trails. Their two dogs are very nice and well-trained; my wife doesn't particularly care for dogs, but she didn't have a problem with them. We felt like we had plenty of privacy even though the accommodations were on the main floor of the couple's home. We stayed over the weekend and got to enjoy Sharon's delicious breakfasts.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful property
Liked least: accommodations on same floor/in close proximity to owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.