We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$ 107
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 85
US$ 75
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$ 180
US$ 164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sweet Biscuit Inn(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$ 199
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
458
60
28
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
458
60
28
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrank and ralphwalt whitmanrobert frost roomwhite gateoscar wilde suitethe main houseother guestsplayer pianoselect registrysocial hourbed and breakfastowners and staffeach morningclose to downtowncocktail hourgreat hostsjacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

this has been one of my fave places to stay. they owners are wonderful and make you feel right at home. the meals were incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronweasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Truly a wonderful experience in every way. The WhiteGate Inn is perfectly located within walking distance to the excitement of downtown Asheville. The owners are welcoming and fun. The gardens are nothing short of exquisite. Three friends and I stayed in the Joyce Kilmer suite. The suite has two lovely bedrooms, a large den, a sit-in kitchen and a nice bathroom (with huge tub). Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

...is exemplified by the WhiteGate Inn. The moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were truly at home. Ralph's garden alone is worth the trip, but add Frank's humor, the amazing breakfasts and lovely surroundings and you will never want to leave. Breakfast is at 9:00 AM and is a wonderful time to get to know the innkeepers and the other guests. Each morning, Frank checks in with everyone to compare dinner experiences the night before. His suggestions are always perfect. We want to go back to see Frank in his next theatrical performance and I can't imagine going to Asheville and staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Talk to Frank and tell him what you are looking for. He and Ralph and wonderful hosts who will always do their best to make you happy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCambridgeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I booked a special deal at 1889 Whitegate Inn that was available for a limited time for limited days. I had to cancel due to a family emergency and asked if it might be possible to reschedule outside the original dates of the special. The response I received? "You tell us when and we will make it happen." and they did - with smiles and a we-are-happy-to-have-you attitude. The Oscar Wilde suite was perfect for my one person getaway, time to recover from a hard time. Frank is just a dear and so funny it is hard not to leave with sore ribs from laughing so hard! The breakfast was delicious and well presented. I look forward to returning with friends so they can experience a truly remarkable establishment. Thank you To all of the staff for making this trip exactly what I needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My partner & I were thrilled with the entire experience. We stayed in the Ralph Emerson suite. They thought of everything! Cozy king sized bed with all the amenities you can expect at a reasonable price. The gardens surrounding the cottage & inn were inspiring, and talking with the master gardener (Ralph, also owner) was a highlight. Also Frank (also owner) was very entertaining and made us feel right at home. They both (owners) have exquisite taste and had vast knowledge of the surrounding areas and thus were able to answer questions from restaurants, to shopping, to event planning. All in all, a near perfect experience. My partner and i could not have asked for a better place to stay. Thanks Frank and Ralph!! By the way, staff were wonderful as well =)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews