We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hope Mills, North Carolina
1 review
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We made our trip to Asheville this weekend to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. What a nice weekend! We stayed at the Whitegate Inn Bed and Breakfast, which was built in 1888. It was nice to stay in an authentically furnished Victorian house. The feel of the house was gracious and the owners were very entertaining and offered great hospitality! 

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
388
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

this has been one of my fave places to stay. they owners are wonderful and make you feel right at home. the meals were incredible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronweasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Truly a wonderful experience in every way. The WhiteGate Inn is perfectly located within walking distance to the excitement of downtown Asheville. The owners are welcoming and fun. The gardens are nothing short of exquisite. Three friends and I stayed in the Joyce Kilmer suite. The suite has two lovely bedrooms, a large den, a sit-in kitchen and a nice bathroom (with huge tub). Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

...is exemplified by the WhiteGate Inn. The moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were truly at home. Ralph's garden alone is worth the trip, but add Frank's humor, the amazing breakfasts and lovely surroundings and you will never want to leave. Breakfast is at 9:00 AM and is a wonderful time to get to know the innkeepers and the other guests. Each morning, Frank checks in with everyone to compare dinner experiences the night before. His suggestions are always perfect. We want to go back to see Frank in his next theatrical performance and I can't imagine going to Asheville and staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Talk to Frank and tell him what you are looking for. He and Ralph and wonderful hosts who will alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCambridgeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I booked a special deal at 1889 Whitegate Inn that was available for a limited time for limited days. I had to cancel due to a family emergency and asked if it might be possible to reschedule outside the original dates of the special. The response I received? "You tell us when and we will make it happen." and they did - with smiles and a we-are-happy-to-have-you attitude. The Oscar Wilde suite was perfect for my one person getaway, time to recover from a hard time. Frank is just a dear and so funny it is hard not to leave with sore ribs from laughing so hard! The breakfast was delicious and well presented. I look forward to returning with friends so they can experience a truly remarkable establishment. Thank you To all of the staff for making this trip exactly what I needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bunn House
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,756 - ₹ 26,923
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing