We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trappe
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Thoroughly professional B&B. They welcomed us with champagne as soon as we arrived. A beautiful building, with interesting furnishings. Our room (Walt Whitman Suite) was on the ground floor. Beautifully renovated with an incredible bathroom. We were there for only one night, so we didn't really have the chance to experience much of what the Inn has to offer. The sheets were amazing, though! The staff does a nice afternoon service of wine and cheese outside in the expertly designed garden. Breakfast was over the top -- a huge helping of stuffed french toast, followed by some other pastry! They have a nice set-up where you can get sweets and water or wine pretty much all day and all night on a self-serve basis.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
388
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

we have stayed here whenever we come to town because of the great staff and the relaxing and restful atmosphere. the location is an easy walk to downtown. One of our favorites.

Room Tip: lower suite has a parking spot just for that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I recently spent four days and three nights at the Whitegate. We have been fortunate to have traveled a good part of the world and have stayed in a significant number of excellent places both large and small.....that's why we don't recommend you stay with Ralph and Frank UNLESS you want to experience great accommodations, gourmet breakfasts served with a genuine flourish , and hospitality rooted in a true desire to make you welcome.

If these things aren't high on your list, the Whitegate may not be for you!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband proposed in Asheville 10 years ago and surprised me with a return visit to Whitegate Inn to celebrate! We have traveled all around the world, but when we talk about our favorite place to stay, Whitegate is always the place we recommend. We had not visited in 10 years, so I was a little worried...what if it's not as great as it was? It was BETTER than it was 10 years ago! We stayed in the Robert Frost room, the original master bedroom in the house that was built in 1889. Greeted with champagne, then chocolate-covered strawberries in the room...it was so romantic! Frank and Ralph are wonderful at what they do, and the staff they have hired are just as great. They all take customer service to the next level. It's easy to get what you NEED at a hotel/b&b...it's quite another thing to get everything you WANT! Coffee and tea brought to your room in the morning, the gentle sounds of the piano playing to let you know breakfast is about to be served. A THREE COURSE breakfast each morning...yum! Not to mention social hour in their prize-winning garden from 5-6pm with homemade appetizers and wine.

Frank and Ralph truly care about your experience, not only at the B&B, but also about the rest of your trip. Breakfast is spent talking about what everyone did the night before; where did you eat? Was it good? They want to know because they give honest feedback to the other business owners if their guests do not have a good experience.

The other great thing about Whitegate is that it's walking distance to downtown Asheville and only about 10 minutes from Biltmore Estates. I love this place and I promise not to let another 10 years go by before I visit again!

Room Tip: Check the website to choose your room...each is different. All are wonderful, but some are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaHCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We absolutely loved our trip to the WhiteGate Inn & Cottage! We stayed in the Elizabeth Browning suite and loved everything about it!
One of our favorite parts about this great spot is the location to downtown Asheville! We walked into downtown and enjoyed a nice evening out then were able to walk back as soon as we got tired!
Great Trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeAltizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bunn House
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Property: 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,595 - ₹ 26,471
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing