We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

rom initial friendly greeting to heart-felt good-bye, the Lion and the Rose was an experience to remember. The accommodations were like taking a step back into time, but with all the convenience of today. We were made to feel at home from the beginning to departure. The breakfasts were original, delicious and presented as if we were royalty. From the beautiful grounds and garden to the comfortable bed, all was remarkable. We will gladly stay at this B&B anytime and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
429
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
474 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We spent a weeknight at the Lion and the Rose B&B and really were impressed, particularly for the price (we had the least expensive room, since we were not going to be able to partake of their breakfast and were going to spend very little time there, as we were visiting our sons in Asheville). The room was bigger than we anticipated from viewing it on the webpage. It was immaculate, with very nice touches: plush robes, quality soaps, free wifi, loads of chocolates in the room, fresh flowers on the night table, and (very important to us!) excellent lighting for reading. There were even two comfy wing chairs! We had our two sons up to our room to eat birthday cake (our oldest son is turning 30), and the innsitter even said we could use one of the parlors (we chose our room instead). When we left the next morning at 5:40 am, there was a nice "to go" breakfast for us in the guest fridge/pantry! Very nice! We love staying in Montford, and the street is very quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Beautiful B & B that is welcoming but not intrusive. We had 2 rooms: The Fanny Rice & margaret Grace. Both nice, but I'd spend the bit more and get the Fanny Rice if just one. Beautiful poster bed, quiet, you can hear the fountain in the garden and 2 nice easy chairs. Very comfortable. The breakfast Jim cooks is unbelievable. No choices, but we had great fruit, a yummy crepe and all in an elegant setting. You are at one table with who ever is in the house and breakfast is at a certain time/window of time. They let you know. Easy distance to Biltmore which was amazing. Also loved the restaurant just down the block

Room Tip: Fanny Rice is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmass15584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've always been skeptical of reviews full of over-the-top raves and exclamations (one is too many for me), but as the title suggests, I may have joined the fray of frothy reviewers (!), but I will attempt to be objective.

No doubt my impressions were affected by my love of Asheville and my now-stronger desire to retire there. My wife, who has never been to this part of NC, knows of my ardor, and our wonderful experience at The L and the R helped create a new Asheville devotee.

Linda and Jim Palmer (he not of Baltimore Orioles or underwear-commercial fame) sweat the details effortlessly, which means they put thought and effort into every part of their B&B. The breakfast table is always set for the right number of guests with china, glassware and linens. No, it is not intimidating, simply inviting and comfortable -- Jim and Linda create that atmosphere. In my book it is also elegant; I'd never have breakfast at home in that fashion, but experiencing it on vacation is a treat. If not then, when? Same for that which you eat. I'll add my kudos to others who've described the breakfasts as unsurpassed. My only regret is that we were eating so well and abundantly at dinner, hunger had not returned by the morning for me to finish every breakfast. I'm salivating as I write. Lunch was a meal we gladly missed every day.

I wouldn't mind if information pamphlets were laid-out on a table. Jim and Linda store them in an armoir. Nice touch. Raining? They leave umbrellas by the front door. Thoughtful. Need to use a computer and print from it? It's there. Hungry between meals? Snacks and drinks a-plenty are available in the butler's pantry. (Maybe that was the reason we didn't have lunch?) Want an after-dinner sherry or port? Yes, it's always there. Information on anything in the area was always provided with cheer and charm by Jim and Linda.

And the immaculate gardens? Don't get me started.

You couldn't pay me enough to run a B&B -- the Palmers appear to enjoy it. Amazing.

I said I would be objective, here's my one criticism: in your room is a cup of Hershey's chunk chocolates which is refilled everyday. One day I emptied it by 9:00PM. I could say I wanted more and only for the sake of a critique I'll say I did. I'm certain the Palmers would have told me where the stash is if I wanted more, but how embarrassing would that be? How dare they put out an abundance of chocolate to feed my addiction? Some criticism...

Jim and Linda could/should write the definitive book on creating and managing a B&B since, for us, they've created the gold standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Fantastic B&B. Jim and Linda made me feel so welcomed and safe. The breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious and I skipped lunch the whole time during my stay. I also had amazing dinners at Cucina 24, Bouchon, Tupelo Honey Cafe, and Limiones. I can't wait to come back to this foodie town some day!!!! There is no better place to stay when in Asheville :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eniale168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,876 - ₹ 16,640
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing