We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
379
94
34
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
379
94
34
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house serenity suite carriage house queen anne room tower room biltmore village private veranda bed and breakfast old victorian each morning other guests cookies wrap around porch breakfast was delicious house is beautiful four nights short drive
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time at the Cedar Crest Inn! The Carriage House was perfect for us as a place for three couples to visit/stay together and see the sites around town and get some needed relaxation.

We were walking distance from downtown Biltmore and the shops and restaurants! The owner was so knowledgeable and helpful and recommended places to go and how to get there!

The Cedar Crest staff catered to our breakfast tastes and served complimentary cookies and wine!

It was as so clean! (And there were even posh hotel-style robes to wear!)

Already booked to go back next year for a longer stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Theresa! Thank you for sharing your experience at Cedar Crest Inn for our future guests. The Carriage House is absolutely perfect for couples weekends, families and girlfriend getaways. So glad you guys enjoyed our breakfast and all the goodies we provide throughout the day. We look forward to having you back with us in April!!

Sincerely,
Kelly Thornton
Cedar Crest Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I returned for another great stay at Cedar Crest Inn this week. The inn is beautiful with amazing hand-carved woodwork throughout. If you like that sort of detail, there is a lot to appreciate. We were there for two nights in the Garden Room on the second floor. The bed was comfortable, and the room, like our first, was small but had everything we needed. Without the modern conveniences, you could imagine that you had stepped back in time. Our second stay was as great as our first, so we’ll definitely be back next time we’re in town!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank schicks324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Cedar Crest Inn! We are thrilled to hear your second visit was as just as awesome as your first visit. It was great seeing you ladies again and hope to see you soon for a third stay!!

Sincerely,
Kelly Thornton
Cedar Crest Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I really wanted to love our recent stay at the Cedar Crest Inn. It was my sister's anniversary and my husband's birthday, and we all had tickets for the Chihuly glass exhibit at the Biltmore Estate. My sister chose the inn from the stellar reviews on Tripadvisor and the great location of the Inn in Asheville. My husband and I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years, and have usually had a really postive experience at them.
However, this was not the case at the Cedar Crest Inn. We were greeted by a woman who we never saw again after checkin and, while there are 17 rooms, there was never a feeling that the owner/head innkeeper was around, and our only contact was Tiffany who was very pleasant and accomodating. We had the Queen Anne bedroom which, according to the inn literature, was something very special with its tented ceiling and Victorian furniture. It was, however, not nearly as lovely and special as advertised. We paid $945 for our three night stay.
The first disappointment was that the inn has no central airconditioning on the second and third floors. The weather was in the upper 80s and the bedroom had a free standing portable unit which was noisy, and had to be left on continuously to keep the room comfortable.The furniture was worn and, in the case of the velvet settee in front of the bed, completely unuseable and literally falling apart with the bottom stuffing ripped and falling out of the bottom of the piece. You could not sit on it. There was a missing drawer handle on the dresser, and there were ants on the bathroom sink everyday. We mentioned this to the staff, but it was never corrected. The tub/shower was high off the floor and there were no bars to assist getting in and out. it was old and had obviously been painted and rested on some kind of platform rather than being an antique claw foot tub. My husband remarked that he felt like he was sleeping in a flea market!
Due to a business need, we were unable to vacate our rooms until noon the first day and, consequently the rooms were not cleaned that day, as housekeeping had left. There was no hairdryer in our room, but we borrowed one from my sister's room. The only toiletries provided was shampoo and soap.
The public rooms were in much better shape and the weather was nice enough that most guests had breakfast on the outside porch. All beverages were self service and the breakfasts were very unremarkable, and nothing special. I found everything overly sweet and the scrambled eggs too dry to eat. This was really unfortunate since the charm of most B&Bs is the special breakfasts that are usually served. Cookies and brownies are available throughout the day as is bottle water, tea, coffee, and lemonade. In the evening, guests are asked to help themselves to one glass of wine from the kitchen, but there was no staff in attendance during this time. This was locked up at 8pm, so no bottled water was available after that time.
Outside there was a newly paved drive with a speed bump that was not makred and my husband tripped over it when we returned at night. We also brought this to the attention of management and the response was that they were aware and needed to paint it. Over all our experience was soured by the poor condition of the room, especially considering the price paid for it. I cannot say the I could recomment this establishment and certainly did not get any romantic vibe as described from other guests.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the Queen Anne bedroom, it is worn and in need of new furnishings.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tour781592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience with us and it was nice having you all with us for the weekend. We appreciate all of our guests opinions be it good or bad.

Cedar Crest Inn operates as a hotel and not your typical B&B, which means we have several lovely innkeepers that manage the Inn during their shifts. The Innkeepers are here form 8am -8pm to take care of any of your needs and concerns. At check in all of this is explained as well as what is available during office hours and what you can access after hours. Our staff would have been more than glad to have worked with you to make sure your needs after hours were met.

All of our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms do have stand alone air conditioners and they do a good job of cool the rooms down. Cedar Crest Inn is a 128 year old registered historic property and those guidelines prohibit installation of duct central heat and air in the Main Inn.

Also, thank you for pointing out the couch damage and missing dresser knob. Since being made aware of this, all repairs have been completed. The speed bump was not painted at the time since it had just been repaired and sealed, which meant we could not paint for at least 48 hours. We also had Terminex come out and treat the bathroom the day the complaint was made.

The housekeeping issue was addressed immediately upon notification and Tiffany offered more than once to come service the room and you opted to not have her take care of it.

As for breakfast, we always ask at check in for any strong preferences or dietary needs and we would have been more than glad to have prepared something to your liking.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with Cedar Crest Inn and we wish you guys the best.

Sincerely,
Kelly
Cedar Crest Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed there in September. Very impressed. Staff was very attentive. Beautiful home built in 1895. You will love the architecture. Definitely going back. We stayed 2 nights. Went to Tupelo Honey for dinner. Neat little restaurant. Get the Brussel sprout appetizer. Breakfast at the Inn was awesome.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherpa539595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and sharing your great experience with our potential guests. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and were able to check out one of Asheville's most popular restaurants. Looking forward to having you back with us again!!

Sincerely,
Kelly Thornton
Cedar Crest Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We booked this Inn since it was very close to Biltmore Estates. We were only going to be there one night to enjoy the Chihuly exhibit and thought the proximity would be great. I wish we could have stayed longer. The Inn is beautiful with fabulous ornate woodwork. The current owners have kept it in mint condition. Sitting on the porch enjoying a glass of wine after our arrival as well as the fabulous breakfast the following morning, which were both included with your stay, were just several highlights we enjoyed. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetT1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedarcrestinn, General Manager at Cedar Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience here with us and recommending Cedar Crest for our future guests! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Kelly Thornton
Cedar Crest Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews