We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel and value, short cab ride to downtown Asheville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel and value, short cab ride to downtown Asheville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for St. Patricks day. We have been to Asheville a handful of times, but we usually stay right in the heart of downtown. We would definitely return to this Holiday Inn. Great experience and although you are not in walking distance it is a short car or cab ride into downtown. This hotel is a great value! About one third of the cost of staying downtown! It also has a bar/grill downstairs. We didn't eat there, but did have drinks in the bar. Overall great hotel and value!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 333kimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    186
    69
    25
    15
See reviews for
109
183
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, Nc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

i stayed here on a recent trip to asheville. the room was clean, the folks were nice, there was adequate safe parking. it was nice to find such a great locale! it is not "near" downtown but a quick drive gets you there. the staff were pleasant i thought. reading over reviews, i think over all you'll find it an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: i had a room on the 5th floor. window closed it was quiet, however it is beside the highway so wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is definitely punching above its weight. The staff on check in seemed genuinely interested in our travels. The accomodation was very comfortable. The gym was fine. All the staff were very friendly. The bar and restaurant were very good with a great selection of local beers. The barman came over to wish us well on our trip the next morning. A little gem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

When we checked in the manager on duty was pleasant, however the next day when my husband and I were both not feeling well the front desk attendants were unpleasant and totally unhelpful. We had booked this hotel though Expedia and understand that if you check-out early you are not guaranteed a refund, but we did call Expedia and they said it was up to the Holiday Inn as to whether or not they would charge us for the last night. When we went to the front desk there were two young girls working. We explained that we had called Expedia about checking out early and the girl couldn't have cared less. She did not even ask why we wanted to check out early, nor did she offer any help in possibly getting refunded. She was rude when I told her my hotel key did not work and the girl working with her was chatting with a friend (who did not work at the hotel) about how drunk they got the night before. I would never recommend this hotel to a friend. There was nothing special about this place AT ALL and the staff put a bad taste in my mouth. I think we will stick with Hiltons and Hyatts going forward.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Ms. Sarah K, First I like to apologize that you for being welcomed at our hotel. Second, You made your reservation with Expedia (Third Party) who failed to explain you that all reservation made by them, you can cancel but are non refundable and therefore we recommend you make your reservations thru our brand website so you know precisely what you are getting or not getting. Third party website might give you discounted room but there is always string attached. Expedia gave you a run around because they know what the procedures are, but I apologize to you on their behalf. Third, We will work hard to improve our Front Desk staff are more professional on every question or concerns that the guest has at our hotel. I hope you will give us and IHG (Holiday Inn) brand a chance on your future accommodation needs. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We really enjoyed the hotel.
The rooms were clean, the staff was super friendly, and although we didn't get a chance to use the pool area.. it seemed nice.
Technically this isn't downtown, but the name seperates it from the OTHER Holiday Inn that is closer to the Biltmore.
As much as you think you like downtown, I don't know that I would want to stay *too* close to downtown only because I like a little peace, quiet and downtime. I'm getting older and not too much of a party animal anymore :) so the distance really didn't bother me. And this IS a college town.. the weekends do get a little hectic.
The one night we did decide to stay out late and get our drink on, we caught a cab to and from downtown. At only $9 one way, it was a good deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face the sad-looking dingy apartment complex...or prepare to never open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Trippin_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.6 km away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
1.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,393 - ₹ 17,609
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing