We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent room and a very good hot breakfast. Did not have reservations but a room with a king bed was available. Off the beaten path, you have to know how to find the hetel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your response! I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 938 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

When you visit this unique hilltop resort, you feel like you're in a bit of a different world, but in a good way. Check-in and check-out was quick & easy. All the Crowne Plaza staff is VERY friendly and helpful.

We arrived around 3 p.m., but the only King bed room available at that moment was a handicap King on the first floor. We decided to take it. ($130)

The handicap rooms do not have tubs... just large showers, which was fine with us. They also have slightly-elevated toilets with thin, plastic seats. Also these rooms are on the ground level (first floor), which is actually below the lobby (on the third floor).

There was a tennis tournament in progress during our visit, and we saw several hotel guests with dogs (they even have dog biscuits at the check-in desk).

This resort has one of the best fitness rooms I've seen in a hotel. Lots of equipment and, like most hotels, hardly anyone uses it.

Downtown Asheville is an easy 5-min drive away, with lots of parking options. There's also a fun zipline course toward the rear parking lot of the Crowne Plaza. The zipline course is separately-owned and cost $80 for 2.5 hrs of tree-to-tree ziplining. Reservations are required and the schedule often fills up weeks in advance. The Crowne Plaza offers a package deal that includes ziplining, but I don't think you save a lot of money.

There's also a disc golf course at Richmond Hill Park, about 10-mins away, that is tournament-quality challenging and fun ... and free.

Crowne Plaza Resort:

PROS
• Beautiful property on a hill, close to downtown Asheville shopping & restaurants
• Friendly, helpful staff
• Nice art deco walls and ceiling, lamps
• Firm mattress w/ comfortable (washable) comforters
• Lots of storage for clothes (2 big nightstands, 3-drawer dresser, long desk drawer, closet, entertainment center cabinet shelving)
• Comfortable heater & A/C
• Small fridge
• Granite top dresser & entertainment center, sink
• Full-length mirror
• Big soothing night stand lights
• Fairly modern am/fm/cd player & alarm clock - Philips (face glow serves as nice nightlight)
• Spacious shower (handicap)
• Thick towels & good quality toiletries
• Great fitness center near the lobby and BIGGER fitness center & pool in separate building
• Zip line course starts in the back of the Crown Plaza parking lot... in fact the property belongs to Crowne Plaza


CONS
• Noisy hallway (shouting, etc.), and can't muffle it with the heat/a/c fan because the cool fan freezes the room.
• Privacy drapes (on first floor) tricky/nearly impossible to close entirely
• NOT ENOUGH outlets = NO desk outlet (bring multiplug or power strip)
• Closest bathroom sink outlet is 10 ft away (in the handicap room)
• Small sink & no other flat surfaces in bathroom
• Thin plastic toilet seat wouldn't stay up (in handicap room)
• Shower bit confusing to adjust
• Desk level is a bit too high
• No desk lamp, but nice floor lamp next to desk.
• Small 3-cup (weak) coffee maker... Sunbeam, flat filter type (you can make the coffee stronger by putting in both filtered portions at once... in fact, it turned out pretty good that way)
• 3 decorative pillows on the bed present questions about sanitation (decorative pillows are fine for your house, but rest assured that hotel guests use them in ways you don't want to think about)
• No complimentary breakfast

Room Tip: We were put in one of the first floor handicap rooms. The hallways were noisy with voices and doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you so much for submitting such an extensive and detailed overview of the property. I feel like you have highlighted many of our strongest points and also given us some very useful constructive criticism. I do want to mention that guests get a Zipline discount of $59/person, and that the price you mentioned is for the public. I hope you get to come back for a visit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Got a very good rate via priceline. Updated room, very clean, quiet at this time of the year. We took a 1st level room with a nice patio with table and chairs to enjoy the nice view. We were able to watch the zipline at a distance. Frig in room so we were able to keep milk and wine cold. It was nice to have a towel bar inside the shower and the soap dish in the shower was at a very convenient level. This hotel has at least 16 tennis courts. It's only three exits from downtown and very easy to get to downtown. Be careful of the quick approach to the entrance and the one way out of the hotel. We decided to stay out of downtown because of the rate and the noise levels caused by traffic, and sometimes dumpsters being emptied at 3 in the morning. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank southernaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

I appreciate your response and review and am so glad that we exceeded your expectations. We truly try to give every guest an amazing experince and do what we can to make their trip to Asheville memorable so they will come back again. You can't always belive every review that you read online and I am glad that you have given us accurate feedback concerning your stay. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was here for just one night but I wish I could've stayed longer. The hotel is perched up on a hill just a short drive from downtown Asheville. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and provided great restaurant recommendations. The rooms were huge with balconies and comfortable beds. we ate breakfast in the restaurant which was a buffet that had great variety and was relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtravelsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Please come back for a longer visit next time and let us wow you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight 04-01-12. Nothing negative to report. The hotel is situated on top of a hill with lovely views of surrounding mountains. The bed was a latex mattress, very comfy. Granite bath counter, okay shower. Personal balcony. Very convenient to downtown. There is a sports complex with pool, golf, and workout facilities that makes this a resort, but we didn't take advantage of any of these. I would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcertBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Next time you stay with us I encourage you to take advantage of our fitness complex, new full service spa, or zipline course if you are looking for a bird's eye view of the surrounding property and city of Asheville. I truly hope you can come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
7 km away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
2 km away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
12.4 km away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: ₹ 5,610 - ₹ 17,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing