We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best local bookstores around”

Malaprop's Bookstore
Ranked #15 of 112 Shopping in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best local bookstores around”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

They carry a good selection of books and other gift items. They also have a small coffee shop. Often, they bring in local writers. If you are in the area and want to get a flavor of Asheville, this is a good place to visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    24
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I love books and I especially like that at Malaprops the staff give guidence with their " favorites". It is wonderful to be helped by people who read.
I will always try to go through Asheville to stop there when I am on my way back to AL

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank blynn444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“BEST indie bookstore!”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I haven't liked a bookstore this much since Powell's in Portland and Elliott Bay Books in Seattle. This has that same feel, only smaller in scope. Personal staff recommendations for books are helpful, as well as displays for award winners and "banned books" (my personal favorite). Gift wrap during Christmas week was free and expertly done. Selections different, unusual, and obviously made by those who read, read, read. Amen! I even met the wife of a poet who wrote one of the books I bought. LOVE this place.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville tn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BESTEST BOOKSTORE EVER!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

always a refuge from the lovely streets of Asheville...love to meander through this intelligent throwback coffee house/book store. Makes me pine for the independent, small, well stocked and eclectic 80's bookstores of my past.....what can I say, I LOVE MALAPROPS!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank basilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“witty, whimsical and scholarly all in one neat stop”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

There is always an event, a new find in local writers and the best cross selection of any small bookstore on the east coast. Fine service from the staff and a quiet sense of welcome to the traveler as well as locals.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malaprop's Bookstore also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Malaprop's Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing