We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not have been better”
other travellers have booked this property
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Great Room Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Great Room with gas fireplace, 50 inch plasma TV, 200 Dish channels
Great Room
Great Room
Walnut kitchen table with seating for eight
Kitchen
Kitchen
The loft with Queen and Full futon
The loft with Queen futon
Lots of books and games in loft
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bedroom, King bed, upstairs
The Master Bathroom upstairs
The Second Bedroom, King bed on main level
The Second Bedroom, King bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The Third Bedroom, Queen bed on main level
The bathroom on the main level
Basement with leather love seat and sofa. 40 inch TV with 200 Dish channels and electronic keyboard
Ping Pong Table in basement
Fire pit and patio
Fire pit and patio
Rear deck and gas grill
View from front deck
View of the back side of the cabin
Front of cabin
Back of Cabin with grape vine
Side and Back of Cabin
Side of Cabin and Parking Area
View of back porch
Side view with driveway
Side view of cabin with parking
Front yard and front porch
Front yard in the Fall
Cornhole in the front yard
Looking off the front porch during a light snow
After a big snow
Front of the cabin after a big snow
Looking at the snow from the front porch.
Looking out the master bedroom window at a snowman built by a guest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard F
Independence, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My 4 daughters and I needed a place to meet my stem cell donor for the first time. This cabin could not have better. The cabin is just like it is on web site all you need is the food and drink you want. I am a early riser ,and was able to move around make coffee and so on with out waking the girls cabin is very well made. Coffee on porch is just outstanding first time in 60 years that I heard a roster chicken crow brought back my childhood . The only thing a wish Linda would get is new clock , hers move way to fast, time went by way fast. If I just back to Asheville it will the place I stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch
Liked least: Road up to cabin
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
We are glad that you and your daughters enjoyed the cabin, and excited to hear about your meeting! As for the clocks, we have the same problem. Seems like time fly's by. We look forward to having you and your family staying with us again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It's simple - Tranquil Glen is perfect! We rented the house for a small group get-together (7 people) during a June weekend and we could not have been happier with our stay. Dave and Linda are amazing hosts who are great with communication and really make you feel like you are "at home" during your stay. The house itself is in fantastic condition; the attention to detail is amazing. The location is perfect - far enough away from everything to feel like you are away from the world, but close enough to take advantage of all that Asheville has to offer. The house has everything you could possibly need and could comfortably sleep 5 couples, if not more. It would also be perfect for families with children. Any return trips we make to Asheville will undoubtedly include staying at Tranquil Glen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Condition of the property, Attention to detail, Comfort
Liked least: That our stay had to end - wish we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thanks for the glowing review! We are glad that you and your group had a great time at the cabin. We agree with your comments, we love spending time at the cabin as well. We look forward to seeing you again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ansel1oh
Pembroke Pines, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice stay - but it's far from everything”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Overall we had a very nice stay. The house is very comfortable (loved the downstairs king bed!). We loved the fact that the there was a basement. Two families, 4 kids...they all got up before the adults and played down there. Ping pong table!!! And a table to seat 8 was awesome.

Just some thoughts though:

The house desperately needs a garbage disposal. We cooked quite a bit and having to grab food in the sink to the throw into the garbage can was pretty gross.

It's far. We planned an Asheviile trip. This is 25 minutes north, w not much around. Everything we did, whether visiting the city or outside, was primarily south of the city. So for 2 weeks we had to make the trek back and forth to the cabin. This is our fault for not really realizing this, just letting others know.

It's a pretty rough road up to the house. It's all loose gravel. The first part is ok, but then the 2nd part you are on loose gravel and then going uphill (prepare to race up it). I'm sure this is for the ice/snow in the winter, but just something for everyone to be aware of.

There isn't much flat grass for the kids to play (mostly on a hill)

We did enjoy our stay no doubt, but might choose something a bit closer to the city next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Very comfortable
Liked least: Far Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
We are glad both families enjoyed the cabin, and great to hear the kids had fun in the basement! We are on a septic tank and unfortunately cannot have a garbage disposal. We advertise the cabin is 20 minutes from Asheville on Flipkey. Sorry that you did not realize that. We love the location, close enough to town, yet has the out in the woods feel. The driveway is gravel, we have not had problems going up it, but will go out to the cabin and ensure the driveway is in good condition.

Thanks for choosing Tranquil Glen, we hope that you will stay with us again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti516
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Family Oasis”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful home with all the amenities we look for. Generous media package. House is very well set up to allow private time for all. Kids enjoyed the ping pong and corn hole.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
We are glad that you and the family enjoyed the cabin. We recently added a huge collection of DVD's to our library. We look forward to seeing you again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edistogir...
chapin, south carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin for trip to Asheville with family”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We rented Tranquil Glen for last weekend to visit Asheville and some breweries there with our adult kids. The cabin was so comfortable and just perfect for the 5 of us! The kitchen was very large and well-stocked (we love to cook). The porch was a great spot for Saturday night, just listening to good music and enjoying the mountain air. We had a nice fire in the firepit Friday night and were visited by the neighbor dog, Bandit. He's a huge Great Pyrenees dog.....white.....but extremely gentle and kind to us and our dog, Scout.
The cabin is only 15-20 min. from Weaverville, where we love to eat at Blue Mountain Pizza. And it's a short 10 min. more to downtown Asheville and those wonderful breweries.
Linda was very easy to work with and checked in via text message Friday to be sure all was going well.
I highly recommend this rental cabin for 1) size 2) location 3) cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: gorgeous cabin in every way
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. Sounds like you had a nice time hanging out at the fire pit and on the deck. We hope you come back and stay with us again!

Dave and Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing