We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dream Birthday Weekend in Asheville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
King, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Dream Birthday Weekend in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable experience. David and Matthew were very hospitible and made us feel welcome from the time we arrived until the time we checked out. The location is a perfect walk to downtown Asheville which allowed us the ability to participate in the activities of downtown and at the same time enjoy the peace and tranquility of sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine. The room was gorgeous and we enjoyed a very quiet and peaceful night's sleep to awake to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee and rocking chairs on the front porch where we could savor in breathing the fresh morning mountain air. Breakfast was served on the porch after an appetizer of fresh sconces and interesting conversations with guests from other parts of the country. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can only look forward to returning for an encore performance!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Drhumor which had a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    63
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
338
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have stayed twice before at the Hill House. It was owned by another couple at the time. The new owners took over about 6 months before our latest trip and they are working hard to keep up the igh standards the original owners held. The rooms are unchanged and are still quite nice with little touches that make the place special. The breakfasts were very good and there were "munchies" available at other times of day.

If there's any place where things need a bit more attention it is in the garden. The previous owners paid great attention to it and it was quite beautiful whenever we visited. The new folks seem not to notice certain weedy things like dandelions and other invasives that have begun to make their presences known. They have also erected a badminton net that is a bit intrusive in the garden. Perhaps putting it up on request and then taking it down when no one needs it would be a good idea. In fact, we never saw anyone use it so perhaps its prominence in the garden is a bit out of scale to its utility.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room here. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill29730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hill House is a great place to stay if you're headed to the Asheville area. It's located in a quiet little neighborhood just outside of downtown, and while it's a bit of a hike to get into the heart of town, it's certainly walkable. The B&B has lots of historical charm, and the rooms are cozy and comfortable. We were particularly impressed by the cleanliness at Hill House - the staff do a fantastic job at keeping the place absolutely immaculate. And of course, the breakfast was delicious, too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunNYoga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hill House was amazing! The staff was very accommodating! This was our first time to stay at a BB and it was great- never want to stay at hotel again. We loved it here. We will def be back :)

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hill House B&B is within walking distance of downtown Asheville, has extensive and lovely gardens, and benefits from a special assistant, Matthew. Our particular room, on the ground floor, had a nice view of the garden but was too dimly lit to read in at night because we are elderly and need more light. Most of you would probably not notice this. Matthew is a real gem, willing to answer any question and help in any way he can. He was a huge help in telling us what to order at his favorite downtown restaurant, Curate (highly recommended). Despite our travels to several European countries, including Spain, we were not very familiar with tapas (missed that lesson in Barcelona), and he patiently marked our menu and told us a lot about his travels in Spain, his relatives who still live there, and his background in the tapas restaurant business. We took so much of his time (30 minutes?) that his job was neglected, for which we must apologize. He has such good manners that we could not have guessed we were taking him away from more important work. One suggestion for improvement would be to provide an ice machine in the guest kitchen so guests don't have to bother the owner or Matthew for ice. The warm weather, coupled with warm club soda stored in our room, caused the ice to melt at a rapid rate and required us to pester the owner for more ice. Other guests were having a problem finding ample ice as well - maybe just one day and not a normal occurrence. Also, a reading lamp in the room with a higher wattage bulb would be desirable. There is a breakfast cook who evidently also helps with tidying up the rooms; she is extremely energetic and moves so fast we didn't really get to say hello, but several guests were pleased with her breakfast offerings - she alternates sweet and savory, so if you stay two days you can try both. We can recommend Blue Spiral 1 gallery and the Co-op gallery downtown, in addition to Curate.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mvpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#8 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,159 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,554 - ₹ 16,174
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing