We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stressful place to stay!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stressful place to stay!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Reviews Write a review Your rating:
Your rating: Hated it
We stayed at the Hill House during the Mother's Day weekend of 2012. The reviews were great and the photos on the internet were beautiful. After driving 8 hours from Indiana and so much needing a "get away"....we were greatly DISAPPOINTED! Apparently the Inn is under new ownership. One night for 2 hours the air tub upstairs kept us awake sounding like an airplane or loud vaccum cleaner and the staff leaves at 9 pm at night so there is noone in the house to help you. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the house lacks many comforts....like no microwave, no bottled water and don't expect breakfast until 9 AM. The staff was great.....but the owner did not seem interested in our concerns. When we travel we stay at B&B's and this one was one of the worst we have seen as far as being accomodating! Likes: staff and garden
We stayed at the Hill House during the Mother's Day weekend of 2012. The reviews were great and the photos on the internet were beautiful. After driving 8 hours from Indiana and so much needing a "get away"....we were greatly DISAPPOINTED! Apparently the Inn is under new ownership. One night for 2 hours the air tub upstairs kept us awake sounding like an airplane or loud vaccum cleaner and the staff leaves at 9 pm at night so there is noone in the house to help you. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the house lacks many comforts....like no microwave, no bottled water and don't expect breakfast until 9 AM. The staff was great.....but the owner did not seem interested in our concerns. When we travel we stay at B&B's and this one was one of the worst we have seen as far as being accomodating! Likes: staff and garden

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
These guests seemed to have unrealistic expectations about what a 9-room inn is about. No, there is no staff available at a snap of the finger after 7:30 pm or on-call after 10 pm. We're not a hotel. Yes, breakfast is at 9 am, as it is in almost every B&B in Asheville. We will microwave items for guests upon requests in our main kitchen, but no, there is no microwave in our guest kitchen, because we don't want guests -- like these -- making a mess (as they did with our guest refrigerator) and leaving odors behind. No, we don't have bottled water, but we have refrigerated filtered water in a pitcher, which these guests knew about.

If they had been a bit more decent, I might feel badly they were disturbed by the air tub above them. We ask guests in that room not to use it after 10 pm. If these complaining guests had called me about the noise, I could have called the other guests and asked them to turn it off, but they didn't call me.

Upon their departure, they complained to me about all of this. I apologized for the air tub, and then kindly explained the rest of our policies to them, but did not offer them a refund nor did they request one, either in person or in writing. I think publicly complaining on Trip Advisor was more important to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
341
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me for our 6 month anniversary with a one night stay at the Hill House. It is a beautiful little house that is very well kept. The surrounding yard was gorgeous even in the rain. Our room was beautiful and flawless. The only mediocre part was the breakfast. They served eggs inpergatory, it was not the best of breakfasts that we had. Otherwise it is a highly recommended B&B!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Hill House is a lovely, clean, friendly B and B located within walking distance of downtown Asheville. Its gardens are beautiful. I really liked the staff and found service to be responsive. I stayed in the lowest priced room at $165/night. For the price I feel that there could have been a fancier breakfast. Although the food was good, I think a draw to b and b's is a fancy, more detailed breakfast. Here it was some sort of egg casserole or quiche and a croissant
(not home-ade) and maybe a piece of sausage. I think there was a lack of finesse.
Otherwise, this is a safe, clean, friendly place. The house is well preserved and tastefully decorated.

Room Tip: If you choose the S & W room be aware that your room is right by the back door entrance and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We've found that most of our guests don't want the three-course breakfasts that some inns and B&Bs serve. No, we did not make the croissant, but it was locally baked and fresh. We almost always also serve fresh fruit and a fresh fruit juice with each meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our trip to Asheville was made even more pleasant by our gracious hosts at lovely Hill House B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the place; the rooms were comfortable and inviting, the breakfasts were delicious (can I get Crystal's German Apple Pancake recipe?) and everyone was warm, friendly and knowledgeable about the history and attractions in the area. They were very accommodating of our every request. After a restful night's sleep, we'd wake up to the sound of birds singing and the aroma of some of the best coffee anywhere. We will return and do highly recommend a stay at this charming 'Southern Lady'....Hill House B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We often look for B&Bs online when we travel to a new city. This B&B was everything their online presence promised, and more. We stayed at Hill House for 3 nights. We loved the food, the helpfulness of the staff, the location, and the ability to book/reserve tours and events (we did the brews cruise and horseback riding). The rooms were clean and spacious. The sit-down breakfasts in the dining room were great, and we loved sharing stories with the other guests. The yard, garden and front porch offer places to unwind from day's explorations. Asheville is a wonderful, funky town. We will definitely come back--there are 11 more breweries to try, hiking, the Biltmore, and a spa right next door...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,241 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#8 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,409 - ₹ 16,668
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing