We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient Location and Great Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Asheville
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient Location and Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and oh my is it beautiful. The outside of the hotel looks quite dated but once you enter the lobby it is as if you are in a new hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable with soft bedding. The sheets are soft like you would have at home and everything in the room just feels clean.
The hotel's location to downtown is perfect. You can walk to all of the attractions, which is nice since parking is a bit difficult (the hotel offers free parking).
I would absolutely stay here again (as it is $100 cheaper than other downtown options).

Room Tip: Marriott allows you to customize your reservation (i.e. extra pillows...no down, etc) make full use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    491
    286
    88
    30
See reviews for
235
502
53
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Picked this hotel based on its downtown location. Was walking distance to all the shops, galleries and restaurants. Hotel itself was fine - nothing to complain about or rave about. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0lina_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel was very nice and clean. It was a bit loud and I was not able to sleep well due to people partying up and down the halls at 1:00am, 2:00am, etc. I did call management and they came up twice to take care of the situation. They acted quickly, but it was very hard for me to lead the workshop that I had to teach the following morning. I may try a bed and breakfast next time I stay for business. The breakfast was good and service was great. Another thing they should fix is the "fan" in the room. I wanted to leave it on all night to drown out the outside noises, but it kept cutting off. It didn't give me an option other than auto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator or stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maysameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I second all the previous reviewers' comments about the lobby - it's nicely (and recently) decorated. I wish I could say the same for the rooms - they weren't dirty, but they looked pretty tired. The bathroom was small and poorly-lit (even though the only mirror in the room is in the bathroom, which is annoying when you're trying to get ready). On the plus side, the location was good, and the breakfast was tasty. Given how expensive it is, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethwidmerpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband, daughter, and I meandered along Rt. 81 from Dc suburbs to look at various colleges. We stopped in Asheville and fell in love with the area. Our stay was made enjoyable by the wonderful staff at the Renaissance hotel. They were able to give us suggestions for shopping & dining within walking distance of the hotel. Asheville is a charming town with artsy little shops and a wide variety of different cuisines offered in their many restaurants. For a small city, Asheville has a lot to offer. It is beautifully set at the base of the Great Smoky Mountains so outdoorsy types will find a lot of activities. It hss been gaining popularity recently as a retirement spot. Also, it is home to UNC Asheville which has a student population of around 7000. Many other colleges are within a 1-2 hour drive. It has a thriving arts community and home to yhe Biltmore Estate. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Although we did not think to ask, I would see if you could get a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#14 of 62 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,053 - ₹ 26,488
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing