We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hostel, HORRIBLE noise.”
Review of Sweet Peas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sweet Peas Hostel
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hostel, HORRIBLE noise.”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I wish I could give this hostel a higher rating, but as other people have mentioned, do not expect to sleep here. They provide earplugs, but they are a joke, there is no way earplugs can dim the racket here (I tried). First problem is they are on top of a nightclub, literally. I heard loud, pounding music from 6pm until 3am, no exaggeration. I couldn't fall asleep until 3am because of the noise. Second problem, all the sleeping areas are open to all the common areas. This is unlike any hostel I've ever seen and very strange to me. You can hear people clattering about in all areas of the hostel at all times. Quiet hours are from 12am to 8am which is also strange, and they were negated by the club's music.

The hostel is very clean, they have a book exchange, DVDs to watch, a beautiful kitchen, laundry, nice showers and lots of resources, but I would never stay here again because all of that is less important to me than sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    7
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
18
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Sweet Peas excels at every possible expectation one could have for a hostel except one: sleep!
The location in the city is great. The space is modern and attractive. The kitchen, bathrooms, towels, and linens are perfectly clean. However, this hostel is not conducive to a good nights rest. The floorplan is wide open (beautiful but noisy). The bar downstairs rocks until 2am and then around 4am the cleaning crew start dragging heavy tables and chairs across the floor. By the time they finish, people ( as many as 40) start rising for the day and walk across the squeaky hardwood floors to get to the bathroom. Noise is the only issue that keeps Sweet Peas from being perfect. Unless you are a very sound sleeper, consider booking a room somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Let me start by saying that I've stayed in numerous hostels in many countries and every hostel has a distinct personality and pros/cons....This place is SUPER clean. Everything from the bathrooms to the bed linens to the towels (and washcloths) provided is immaculate! The location is also fabulous and the price is good. Lockers (and locks) are provided as is an electronic key card that secures the main entrance. The staff was friendly and the kitchen/living area were spacious and beautiful.

Now for the not so great news...many reviews listed the bar upstairs causing a lot of noise and it does. There is loud music and talking until 2 am when the clean up begins. This includes tables and chairs being dragged across the floor for the next couple of hours. Although this was a disturbance it wasn't anything compared to the noise coming from INSIDE the hostel. Quiet/lights out is SUPPOSED to be from midnight-8 am, but there was not a minute of silence the entire night! The staff leaves at 11pm and return at 9 am, but they assure you that there is a "Security guard" behind this closed door. The only evidence that someone may have been in there was loud music coming from inside that could be heard throughout the hostel. We never saw the door open or a person come in or out. A knock on the door (to ask if the music could be turned down) was not answered so don't let this hoax give you a false sense of security. Nor should you expect that this "person" will enforce any rules. The hostel has an open floor plan with an industrial setting (and the loudest creaky floors). There are really high ceilings, but if you are in one of the dorm rooms the walls do not go up to the ceiling and there is a huge opening with no door (a curtain here would really help) which means if a light turns on anywhere (kitchen, hallway, living room, dining room, adjacent dorm) it FLOODS in. Around 2:30am a large group returned to the hostel turning on all the lights and proceeded to laugh, talk, shower, make and eat food in the kitchen, etc. This went on for about an hour and a half. I have NEVER experienced this kind of a disturbance in a hostel. You are prepared for a few inconveniences, noises, lights, but this was unbelievable. The earplugs they provide would suffice for the bar noise but not what's happening 5-10 feet away. The floor plan is so open that it is really essential that Sweet Peas employs someone to actually enforce the rules. If this were the case this place would get 5 stars. Not being able to sleep negates any positive aspects of a hostel and right now Sweet Peas gets everything right but the most important thing: a good night's rest

Room Tip: Choose the pods "Deluxe 23 bed mixed dorm" so you can at least block out some of the light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alwaysreadytotravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I spent the weekend in Asheville at Sweet Peas hostel. Great place, and very clean. Staff is very nice and helpful. I didn't use the kitchen while I was there but it looked really good. They had a very nice dining area and common area with plenty of books and movies if you wanted to stay inside for a bit. I would definately recommend this hostel to friends and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Wow. I never give 5 stars but this hostel had it all. Very VERY clean, modern design, very nice kitchenette, hospitable, safe, great location in walking distance to shops, food and music. If you are planning on a trip to Biltmore, it IS indeed possible to get a taxi to take you straight through the front gate and right up to the house to be dropped off for your tour. A taxi can then come to pick you up. The person working the front desk our entire stay claimed this to not be true, which added a little stress to our trip, but a quick phone call to a taxi service cleared it up. Just a little weird working there for so long how she didn't know this fact. Regardless, STAY HERE!

Room Tip: I went with a Pod for $35. It has an extra long twin bed, reminiscent of train car sleepers. Each Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldofWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
734 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
975 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Peas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Peas Hostel

Property: Sweet Peas Hostel
Address: 23 Rankin Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,253
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a newly renovate historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville. We are a European style hostel and a great alternative to a hotel for travelers on a budget. Our beds start at $32 per night and we are clean and comfortable with friendly knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Peas Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing