We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No major complaints, recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No major complaints, recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed for three nights over Memorial Day weekend. No complaints, really, so I'll add my voice to the Greek chorus of upwards-facing thumbs. The hotel is still new, so everything is in good shape. The décor is very stylish in a post-modern, "Ikea turned up to 11" sort of way, both in the guest rooms and in the common areas. Some might prefer something a little more understated, but it sure beats the sterile, institutional-looking business hotels that have been dominant for decades. The guest room was spacious, with plenty of light and a comfortable bed. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

A few things worth mentioning, all of them very minor in the grand scheme of things, but would make the hotel go from good to great if corrected. There are no safes in the rooms. Although generally the soundproofing is better than many other places we've stayed, the guest room doors are very heavy, and we could hear them slam in the middle of the night occasionally. The parking is complimentary, and there are no valets (all good things!), but although the garage downstairs is proportioned for normal cars, it was chock-full of pickup trucks and SUVs, making maneuvering a bit dicey, even in our compact hatchback. Finally, I thought the rate was on the expensive side even for a new and relatively luxurious place, but that's the nature of things these days. I am sure the long holiday weekend had a lot to do with it. We've been to Asheville several times before, and before the Indigo opened, we've always stayed at the Four Points down the road, and in fairness I must say the Indigo is worth the extra money, to us at least.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkingEar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    450
    155
    40
    29
See reviews for
205
829
50
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were here only one night mid-way through a week-long road trip and this place stands out as our favorite. We chose it because our twelve year old is really in to "The Hunger Games," and this is where the main cast stayed during filming. We were a little road weary when we checked in, having spent the day in Smokey Mountains National Park, and I was afraid the front desk clerks might be a little snooty. Nothing could be further from the truth. They were very welcoming and helpful. The free parking was a breeze, and all three of us were delighted with the modern, fun way the room was decorated. As others have mentioned, the shower was huge and modern also. It made a pleasant change from the sameness of all the chain hotels from our trip. I know the Indigo is also a chain, but it doesn't feel like one, and I will definitely stay at another property if I get the chance. We walked all over downtown Asheville the next morning after checking out, and they told us we could leave our car in their lot as long as necessary. There are lots of great nearby restaurants and shops, but I especially recommend The Early Girl Eatery and Malaprops Books. (They have connections with the HG movie, also.) Hope to come back and visit both the town and the Indigo again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soonermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Perfect location - walkable to everything downtown. Clean rooms with hardwood floors. Nice big shower. But the staff was the standout! My 6 year old lost her stuffed elephant and the head of housekeeping tracked it down from the laundry service and mailed it back to us. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

What a disapointment! The reviews were good.The marketing better. We wanted to stay downtown. The rooms were small ,the location lousy. We left after the 1st day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRW547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVL-Indigo-AGM, Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience that you may have had during your visit, and would like to invite you to contact me to discuss the details of your experience. We value any feedback that we receive from our guests and it helps us to identify things that we need to improve in our service or our property. You may contact me at hrice@hlihotels.com or by calling the hotel at 828-239-0239.
-Henry Rice, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Property: Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,761 - ₹ 31,765
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing