We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value, nice extra touches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great value, nice extra touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great location, good rate, small goody bag upon arrival, Chocolet chip cookies and lemon aid in the lobby at arrival. Above average breakfast. This all adds up to an excellent stay. Would stay at this property in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWOBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    283
    70
    23
    18
See reviews for
240
353
46
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The photos made the hotel appear to be updated, but the room was not what I expected. The bathroom sink was literally in the room and the "bathroom" was closed off by a pocket door that wouldn't lock. The pocket door was very loud when you opened/closed it. So it disturbed everyone in the room. And there was just a stand up shower. The shower door was not installed correctly and made water leak all over the door. The thermostat on the a/c unit in the room didn't seem match what you set it on. EX: put on 70 but it was not 70 degrees in there. The breakfast was actually pretty good. And the room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience here at the Sleep Inn West. If you reported your problems at checkout, I can assure you that we have inspected your room and resolved the maintenance problems you mentioned with the bathroom door, the shower and the air conditioning unit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and I hope you will give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Recently, I stayed at the Sleep Inn West hotel in Asheville, NC. The experience was absolutely horrible. I drove from Tampa, Florida for a wedding at the Biltmore Estates Inn. The group consisted of 21 peoples; 12 adults and 7 kids. At night we received visitors from the rest of the group which was staying at different hotels. Like any other big family, it takes coordination to plan the next day agenda.
We noticed that Mr. Patel (General Manager) was observing us during the entire stay. It was an unwelcome feeling.
When we was about to check out, he charge us for 5 rooms but with an extra 2 adult per room for the entire stayed. My sister-in-law admitted that she was extra and do not argue in paying the extra charge. Also my niece admitted that she is 21
years and she was also charge extra an extra fee. But the rest of the extra charges was absolute an assumption from his part.
I mentioned to him that when I booked the room, I reserved the room for 2 adults and kids. For example in my room sleep my husband, me and my daughter (13 years old) and he didn't believe me .I mentioned to him to look at the security cameras to confirmed it, but he refused to do it and insisted for me to pay for extra 2 adults in the room. He insisted on being rude and turned away from me to ignore me and my request. How rude was that? He made no attempt to even be interested in what I was saying. I also mentioned to him that we wanted to call the entire party in front of him, for him to confirm the amount of peoples and their ages. But again, he refused.

After 2 hour of arguments infront of other customers, he decided to only charge us for the extra 2 adults that we admitted from the beginning. We wasted 2 hours convincing Mr. Patel, we could have been travelling back home to Florida
It was a horrible experience. He was so rude. Customer services was poor. I cannot believe that this is a 98.5 rating Hotel.

It was humiliate, unprofessional and poor customer services from his side.
Each time I stay in a hotel the experience is both enjoyable and truly impressive. The morning buffet breakfast was decent, but not great. I was a little disappointed of the Hotel. I read the reviews for this hotel and it supposed to be a 98.5. I don’t think so!
What a disappointed experience!
Zaira E. Yhap, Tampa Florida 06/15/12

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaira371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
I am truly sorry for your dissatisfaction with your experience here at the Sleep Inn West, and for any misunderstanding that occurred to cause this disagreement. We made the decision to append extra-person charges to your rooms due to the large amount of traffic that our front desk and management staff noticed coming to and from your rooms throughout your stay, as well as the fact that your reservations (made by you through Choice Hotels) indicated that there were only supposed to be 2 adults and 2 children in the rooms, which was not the case. We charge for extra persons because of the costs associated with accommodating additional adults—linen, laundry, water and electricity usage, food and beverage, and so on.

We ultimately decided to waive the disagreed-upon extra-person charges to resolve the conflict at checkout. I apologize for any unpleasant impression this situation may have caused, and I hope that this apology, along with our decision to waive your extra-person charges (the ones we disagreed on) at checkout, is sufficient resolution for this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Served its purpose. Room was comfortable & clean. Only coffee making facilities in room, so no good for tea drinkers. However, it wasn't too far to walk to reception and use the hot water there. The included breakfast was perfectly adequate, never felt the need to buy anything else. Location was pretty good, easy access to interstate and a few restaurants within walking distance.

Thought I'd booked somewhere with a pool, so was disappointed to find that I hadn't.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stopped here on the way to South Carolina and didn't have a reservation. The hotel looked nice from the outside and the lobby was nice, but it didn't carry into the room. The hallway smelled like someone smoked several packs of cigarettes, the room had been updated but not renovated. There was only a very small shower in the bathroom, the toilet was so low you felt as if you were on the floor. Carpets appeared newer, but questionably clean. The door to the room had a gap between the door and the frame. Would not stay again, even if it was just to crash for a few hours.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyvaca4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
On behalf of the staff at the Sleep Inn West, I am truly sorry that your stay here did not meet your expectations. We strive to make every guest's stay excellent, and I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet that standard with you. Our third floor has some smoking rooms, which sometimes causes a smoky smell in the hallway. I apologize for any discomfort this may have caused and would advise future guests to request a room on an entirely nonsmoking floor (1st or 2nd floor). We actually did renovate all the guest rooms recently with new bedding, paint and artwork, according to the brand new Sleep Inn Designed to Dream program. I am sorry again for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
4.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
11.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
4.8 km away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,436 - ₹ 11,963
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing