We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Last minute Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Last minute Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a great stay at this place, it was unexpected after driving through some terrible storms in November 2011. Rooms that were offered for the evening were at a discount, some of the carpets could use replacing but overall the rooms were unique a huge. Bed was very comfortable. This is a place that has limited amenities, but wonderful spacious rooms. Well worth going to if you are passing thru Asheville. The greeting when we arrived was top notch.

Room Tip: Take a tour of what is available for the evening. All rooms are unique and the price point to upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drew521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenHaywoodPark, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our spacious rooms! Additionally, we are happy to say that since your stay last November we have made many improvements to the property, including new carpet throughout most of the hotel, reupholstered furniture in many suites, larger 43” flat panel TVs, new cordless phones and I-Home® docking stations. We continue to make upgrades and enhancements based on valuable guest feedback.

However, we are a bit confused by your comment that we have limited amenities as we offer free valet parking, champagne at arrival, bell staff, nightly turndown with locally crafted chocolate truffles, a departure gift, access to our fitness center, complimentary wireless Internet, concierge services and more. While it is true we do not have a restaurant, we are located in the Heart of Town so all of the fabulous dining and shopping Asheville is known for is literally right outside our door.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Asheville so that you may see all of our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    113
    31
    21
    18
See reviews for
104
391
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, TN.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I usually just make Asheville a day trip, but this time decided to spend the night. We had been by the Haywood Park Hotel dozens of times on our trips to Asheville, and to be honest, the location led me to get a room here over anything else. The location is unbeatable, with easy walking distance to more dining and shopping options than you can shake a stick at. The Asheville Civic Center is right around the corner, as is the Grove Arcade, and the Fine Arts Theatre and Orange Peel are easy walks as well.

As for the hotel itself, we were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk who checked our luggage (we arrived early) and offered free valet parking while we went out to grab some lunch. The room itself was large, and well decorated. The bed was comfortable, and there was a small fridge and Keurig coffeemaker as well. Even though was had a room directly above the street, the noise level was minimum.

The bathroom was very nice, with double sinks, marble floors and counter, good water pressure, plenty of hot water and also a television.

Considering the location and amenities (there's also a fitness center), the Haywood Park is also a pretty good value. We will definitely stay here again when we decide to spend the night.

Room Tip: Rooms are cheaper during the week, not that it's a surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDHoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenHaywoodPark, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. From your comments, it sounds as if you had just the type of memorable stay we strive to create. Thank you for also considering our luxurious amenities and our fabulous location in the Heart of Town when determining our value. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you “come over the mountain” for a night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I arrived for one night in Asheville, NC. This hotel was recommended because of the location and the resonable price. The staff was excellent. They offered champagne when we arrived, a turn down service with chocolates, and a tote bag when we left. Although the room was a really nice size, it all started with the discovery that the TV did not work. We tried to get the front desk, but were unable to get an answer that evening. The night wore on and none of us got a wink of sleep due to our young child's fever and runny nose (certainly not the hotel's fault). The next morning my husband woke up early for his business meeting, and desperately needed a shower after such a difficult evening. The cold water did not work and the hot water scaulded his hand when checking the temperature. Unable to take a shower he dressed and left unshaven and unclean to an important meeting. Really disappointed and very tired, we went downstairs to let the desk know about the hazardous scorching hot water. The staff explained that when they are slow there can be a "valve issue" causing this problem. I just thank God it was not my young child's hand that was severely burned. Clearly negligent about this "valve issue," the hotel never should have made us pay for a night which may have been more comfortable spent in our car. Exhausted and eager to get on the road for home, we paid our bill with a mere 20% off.
Unfortunate evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, General Manager at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your candid review. As a result of your experience, ownership has implemented a management escalation process that will promptly address any unexpected guest issues. This escalation process will cover quality assurance, guest services and property management. After all, inherent with a “boutique” hotel operation such as ours, it is your expectation that attention and satisfaction be delivered immediately- whatever the request! Please know this is always our goal. While we regret the experience you encountered, we do feel it was a severe anomaly. We are proud that our guest reviews and referrals are quite outstanding. Still, we are grateful for your visit and assessment which gives us the opportunity to improve our operation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My wife and I just celebrated our anniversary at the Haywood Park Hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location can't be beat...walking distance to everything in downtown Asheville. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here on New Year's Eve and were very pleased with our experience. As I said in the title, we were greeted with valet parking and good champagne - a big plus in my book. The rooms are HUGE. There is plenty of closet and drawer space if you are staying for a while. The beds were heavenly. There is a comfortable sitting area that you can separate from the beds with a nice, room-darkening drapery.

The bathroom was also very large and there was a separate dressing area. Don't fall for the claim of "lighted makeup mirror," because it is really more of a mirror with a nightlight on in it - it does not light up the mirror at all. The bathroom and sitting room are plenty bright for getting ready. The bathtub is a garden style - no Jacuzzi jets in our room, though.

We don't watch television, but if you do - the one in our room was set back in a cabinet a good ways away from everything else in the room, i.e., I can't imagine being able to watch it comfortably. There was also a TV in the bathroom - if you are really into your TV, then I guess that's a good thing.

Although it really did not affect us too much, we had a bad view - the side of a building. If that matters to you - ask for a room with a view.

You can't beat the location! Loved that about it. It is right in the heart of downtown - you can walk to anything you need. Breakfast, coffee, lunch, dinner or shopping is less than 2 mins away.

I agree with the creepy kid mannequin comment in another interview - two kids enclosed in glass, looking like corpses from the 20s is kind of weird (The Shining evoke any memories?). One of the elevators announces the floors of the old department store - if those were authentic and not remakes, I'd think that was cool, but since it was not - it was lame.

Overall, we loved our experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We're doing it again next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you want one. Not all rooms have Jacuzzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesamineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: 1 Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,165 - ₹ 25,881
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing