We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path and clean and quiet”
Review of Apache Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apache Motel
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path and clean and quiet”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Apache was a pleasant place to lay my weary head after a long day on a motorcycle. Following the signs in town, it was a bit difficult to find. Eventually the signs ended without pointing me directly to the hotel but it was close and I eventually found the place. Continental breakfast was offered but there was no place to sit and enjoy the food. You had to juggle the plates and cups and take the food back to the room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the east side of the building. The west facing rooms are quite hot in the afternoon su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    74
    73
    39
    30
See reviews for
66
102
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Crappy room. Old furnishings and linens. Chipped tiled in bathroom, musty smell, weird hot/cold issues with plumbing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moab hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Checked in at 7p. Checked out 5 minutes later. Bad, bad smell. Tiny bugs flying in room. Moth fighting for life on floor just below moth eaten curtain. Floors stained. Room dark and dingy with holes in bathroom wall. I could go on, but was only in for 5 minutes. Afraid to plAce luggage in room. Cheap but no bargain....No refund on my $95 reservation. Beware.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Apache motel is the best-kept secret in Moab. We will never stay anyplace else. They don’t list on the typical reservation sites and don’t even have online reservations. You just have to call them. We stayed in the John Wayne suite. 2 large rooms for a great price. It’s a few blocks off the main street, so it’s close to everything without dealing with noise and parking issues. The hotel is not fancy but it had everything we needed for a base for exploring all the outdoors.

Front room had one larger bed – I think a queen, a fold-out couch that made a full-size bed, and another folding twin-size bed in the closet. Each of our kids got their own bed – they were thrilled. Plenty of pillows and blankets and we never see that in hotel rooms. The back bedroom has a king-size bed, dresser, TV. Front room has a flat-screen TV and DVD player, table and 4 chairs, microwave, refrigerator. The only odd thing is there was no sink in the kitchen area. Plenty of storage and closet space and room to park our bikes in the room. Back room has the bathroom which had a nice-size countertop, a bench which was great for laying out swimsuits, shower/tub combo, and toilet. Lots of towels, hair dryer. Each room had its own air conditioner unit and they worked great.

The pool was sparkling clean and we used it a lot. Breakfast was cereal, milk, and waffles – they cook up stacks of them for you. Coffee provided as well. We’d take our plates of waffles and bowls of cereal back to our room and eat at our table. We stored bottles of water, sandwich makings and other goodies in the fridge. It was perfect. If the breakfast is not enough, there are plenty of restaurants including a McDonalds on Main street.

The décor is fun – lots of John Wayne items. The carpet is old, but I don’t blame them for not updating with everyone parking bikes and tracking in dirt. The room was very clean. The wi-fi worked perfectly the entire time we were there.

If you’re looking for clean, comfortable, inexpensive, in the perfect location – then this is your place. I would give it 5 stars if not for a rather large hole in the wall next to the toilet – gave me the creeps every time. Management – please fix this – otherwise, I’ll bring a roll of duct tape next time we’re there. :-)

Room Tip: Get the John Wayne Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The promotion for the Apache motel boasts that John Wayne slept there. That was a long time ago ane there weren't many motels to choose from. Now Moab is a busy tourist town with a lot of choices. If you are looking for a basic, budget motel, this might be the place. But, expect thread bare sheets, tiny towels and an ancient TV that probably is the same one John Wayne watched. The bathrooms have been particularly updated.....there are still gaping holes in the wall from the old shower curtain. If you want something a little better, spend a few dollars more and go the the Inca. It has been remodeled and serves Starbucks coffee all day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
1.0 km away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
0.8 km away
Expedition Lodge
Expedition Lodge
#34 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.6 km away
The Virginian Motel
The Virginian Motel
#18 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Red Stone Inn
Red Stone Inn
#24 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.9 km away
Big Horn Lodge
Big Horn Lodge
#20 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.2 km away
Silver Sage Inn
Silver Sage Inn
#25 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apache Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Motel

Property: Apache Motel
Address: 166 S 400 E, Moab, UT 84532-2628
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,869 - ₹ 7,258
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Apache Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Apache Hotel Moab
Apache Motel Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing