We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed five nights in a tent site. All in all, I was satisfied with this campground. After all, it is a campground and I never had high expectations. The tent sites are on the side and along a wooded area. Each campsite has a fence around it which provides privacy. Furthermore, each tent site has a permanent canopy which was helpful to keep our gear dry while we were gone.

In regards to the showers and bathrooms, they were generally clean and a lot cleaner than other campgrounds that I've stayed.

Staff was great. Mark, the campground super, was very friendly and made it his point to say hello.

Location is good, depending on what you want. If you want quiet wilderness, this is not for you. If you want to be able to walk to restaurants and the supermarket, this is for you. There is some noise coming off the main road. Nevertheless, I am from NYC and it didn't bother me.

My only real complaint was the cockroaches. At night, our site was overrun with cockroaches. At any time, we could count 4-5 scurrying around. While I normally don't mind bugs, I mind cockroaches for whatever reason. We also had an ant problem but I minded this less. Due to this, I will likely not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobAdams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    138
    47
    20
    17
See reviews for
149
127
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

This is not a campground that is big rig friendly. The sites are extremely small. I kept hitting my head on the neighbor's truck mirror as I hooked up the septic. It is noisy, crowded, small, difficult to maneuver your truck and camper in, and the office staff is very unconcerned and unhelpful. What a mistake. Do not believe the reviews that say it is a good place to stay - I did and am so sorry. They do not give refunds - it is stamped on your receipt and posted on the wall. No wonder - awful, awful, awful place to camp.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredtraveler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG, UT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

We stay at this campground everytime we go to Moab which is at least once or twice a year. Great way to be in Moab without an expensive motel room. They are pet friendly and have a great little trail that runs along a creek for walks. There is also spots to park any extra vehicles which works out great for us since we also have an atv trailer besides our 5th wheel. I would recommend this place to anyone. They are pretty straight forward with their charges. The rates are for 2 people just like a motel would be.

  • Liked — Great Location for being in town.
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bvdcarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

Stayed here in late Sept. and found it clean, well kept and staffed by friendly people. Manager/owner lives on site and is responsive to requests, problems. It is located right in the heart of the small downtown area of Moab and is super convenient since one can walk to supermarkets, restaurants, etc. Major drawback is noise both from main street/highway just out front and also from within. Lots of 4WDs, ATVs fans stay here, coming and going at all times of day and evening. Many of them seem to know each other and "visited" regularly in the evenings. If you are fit, but not a technical mountain biker, try Hurrah Pass that begins right across the street or Gemini Bridges and it's neighbor, Bar-M Loop just north of Arches NP. Lots of great hiking here in attention to the world famous MTB biking.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
This review as written in 2006.
That was two managers and many changes ago.
It is not relevant to 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2004

Be careful with this campground. Make sure you completely understand the fees. We made a TENT reservation and we were told it was $18. Not once were we told of additional camper fees. We had ONE tent site reserved. We were able to put three small tents on our site which accomodated 3 people the first night and 7 people on night 2 and 3. Our bill for three nights was $100. When we approached the managers of the discrepancy, they were very rude and called me a liar for saying that I wasn't told of the additional people charge. (which is $3 per person - 2 people are included in the original $18 charge) They did not apologize and were very inconsiderate. I will not stay at this facility again and advise others of the same. Also be aware of a 12% tax that is also charged.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
This review was written one owner and two managers ago in 2004.
It is not relevant to our staff or service in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
788 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
1.1 km away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
17.3 km away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
7.1 km away
O.K. RV Park & Canyonlands Stables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Property: Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,196 - ₹ 3,811
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Campground is a RV park with 66 RV sites, 15 water and electric sites, 41 tent sites, and 8 camper cabins.Services include free wi-fi, swimming pool, pavilion, group campfire area, and childrens play area. The park is pet friendly except for the cabin area. We have a gas station/convenience store, propane sales, and laundromat on site. All sites except RV sites include a fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing