We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, great long weekend... looking forward to a return stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great long weekend... looking forward to a return stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend last fall. The principal reason for our visit was hiking in Canyonlands National Park. We had a great experience. It was shoulder season and the resort was quiet. It was a lovely place to spend our evenings and mornings. I wish we had more time to spend using the resort amenities. We had a great dinner at the restaurant one evening out on the deck overlooking the Colorado River. We had venison and local trout, and much of our dinner vegetables came from the garden growing just outside the main lodge. We also enjoyed the hot tub one evening.The hotel has a gorgeous stable of horses which are available to guests for riding (at an additional fee). We had no problems with service. Everyone was polite and courteous and attended to our needs. The views were some of the most amazing I have ever experienced. We loved just sitting out on our porch swing and enjoying the sunset and the stars. The hotel is incredibly close to so many hiking trails -- we drove down to the Needles portion of Canyonlands one day, which was about an hour drive (and well worth it), but we also enjoyed driving just up the road to the Fishers Tower Trail (10 minutes). With Arches National Park and the Island in the Sky district of Canyonlands just 15-20 minutes away, and lots of great trailheads for biking and hiking even closer, I can't wait for a return visit to explore more of the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eca5416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We’re thrilled you were able to take advantage of the hiking trails near the ranch – it sounds like you covered quite a bit of territory! I will be sure to relay your feedback to the culinary team, as they are always looking for feedback on guests’ favorite dishes. We hope you find time to return to Sorrel River Ranch for more hiking, dining, relaxing and more. If you have any questions or would like any assistance planning your next stay, please contact us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    181
    106
    64
    41
See reviews for
238
347
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for three nights during spring break and had a great stay. The ranch is located right at the Columbia river with fantastic views all around. The pool was open and used by our kids, while we could relax in the hot tub (open to 10 pm) and watch the stars. This was obviously pre-season and the hotel was not staffed adequately. We therefore had breakfast in the room and ate out for dinner most of the time. We did, however, had two excellent lunches, and the kitchen seems to be quite up to its task. There are two tennis courts (hard court) that we used, while the kids could play basketball near by. While your are there, make sure to make the trip to the Fisher Towers; a bit streneous and takes a good 2-3 hours, but worth it. Also drive into Castle River on the LaSal road for another fantastic view of the snow-peaked mountains. All in all a breathtaking place, and much better than all the available places to stay in Moab. You have to drive for 15 miles to get there, but that is absolutely worth it. The nearby Red Cliff is quite different in style, more like a streamlined "camping machine". it you miss the bell boy, go there. If you can carry your luggage yourself, choose Sorrel. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with river view and a fireplace (gas)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgm_oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

we stayed at the sorrel river ranch resort in early April. It took the receptionist three attempts to programme our key; no-one helped us with our bags; we were told it was a working ranch ( we had thought we were going to a hotel); the food in the restaurant was at best mediocre. The restaurant was pretty well deserted on the two occassions we ate there.No-one seems to be running this place. A very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: avoid and stay at red cliffs lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wama_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent the first week of April at Sorrel River Ranch outside of Moab. The visual environment is so beautiful exhilirating. The cabins were wonderful and pleasant to stay in. The staff was most courteous and helpful. The dining room was slightly understaffed and the menu in limited but the staff was very friendly.
The spa was enjoyable and the horseback riding was fun. The concierge, Jen was helpful in planning events in the area.
Once you visit this paradise, you will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts on Sorrel River Ranch! I am overjoyed that our accommodations, staff and surrounding area met your expectations. Our staff takes pride in providing attentive personal service, so I will be sure to give your feedback to Jen and the rest of the team! I am sorry our dining facility left something to be desired during your stay. We are always working to perfect our dining menu – when you make your return to “paradise,” we will ensure your experience is ideal! Please contact us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com if you have any additional comments or questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

For our spring break at the end of March, we decided to stay for a few days at the Sorrel River Ranch Resort. According to the resort's website, the resort is rated AAA four diamond; however, we do not feel that the rating is merited. As a previous reviewer stated, the staff was inadequate for the time of the year. For example, another party who was traveling with us did not have room service until after 4pm. Likewise, our shower drain was severely clogged (imagine standing in water above your ankles; not very pleasant). We reported the problem to the front desk, but the drain was still clogged the next day. The most unpleasant situation was the "misunderstanding" over the bill. For the last evening, our friends (the other party) graciously bought us dinner at the hotel's restaurant. However, when we checked out of the resort, we noticed that the dinner had been erroneously charged to our account. At that time, the front desk agreed to remove the charge. Nonetheless, when I looked at my credit card account the next week, the charge had been added back. I contacted the hotel, and the front desk said that the chef would give me a call. (Seriously?) The chef never called, so I contacted the hotel again. After speaking with the chef, who did not happen to have a copy of the dinner receipt (seriously?), I decided to ask my friend who had paid for dinner to call the resort. (Yes, their credit card bill had been charged for the same amount.) Finally, after my friend talked with the front desk, it appears that the charge has been removed. In my opinion, the resort does not merit the rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IDTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEBS10, General Manager at Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us! I am sorry your time at Sorrel River Ranch did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in providing the best possible service to each and every guest, and it’s clear we fell short in several ways during your stay. We will work hard to rectify the issues you encountered. I apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will someday return to see how we have improved. If you have any additional feedback, please contact us at lcerra@sorrelriver.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
4.8 km away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
19.0 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
19.4 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
19.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
19.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa

Property: Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa
Address: Mile 17 Highway 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#11 Family Hotel in Moab
Price range (per night): ₹ 37,547 - ₹ 53,574
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst southern Utah’s spectacular scenery, Sorrel River Ranch Resort elevates the standard of luxury lodging in Moab, offering 160 acres of wide open ranch land along the Colorado River. Escape and discover extraordinary Arches and Canyonlands National Parks adventures, horseback riding, hiking, farm-to-table meals, rejuvenating spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort And Spa Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing