We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our last American bed and breakfast, period.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adobe Abode Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our last American bed and breakfast, period.”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The first few days of our vacation were so thoroughly ruined by this place and by Keith, the guy who runs it, that it not only will we never stay there again, we’ll never again use an American bed and breakfast. When we arrived on a Saturday at around 5 p.m., after 12 hours of travel from New York, the front door to the place was locked, and had a sign with phone number for Keith, which said he was only a few minutes away, or something like that. To make a long story short, we called this number 4-5 times over the next three hours or so while we were having dinner in town, and never heard from him. Finally we went back to the house to see if we could find someone there. The building was still deserted, but because Keith had told my wife that we would have one of the upstairs rooms over the garage, we eventually went up there, and when found a key in the door we put our stuff in the room and settled in.

At around 9:30 p.m., Keith showed up, banged on our door, and told us that someone had been calling my wife’s cell phone (which had died) and leaving messages “all day.” He complained about our not having returned these messages (which actually left a different number than the one on Keith’s sign), and was annoyed that we had “checked ourselves in.” I said that we were exhausted, and would check in the next morning (i.e., give him our credit card). He told me that breakfast began at 7 a.m.

When we got down to the main entrance for breakfast the next day at around ten to eight, the front door was again locked, so we left Keith a message at the phone number on the sign saying that we couldn’t get in, and went to Arches. When we returned at about 3 p.m., Keith was actually there, lying in wait for our credit card. This time, he blamed the (very nice) young guy who makes the breakfasts for locking us out, when actually Keith had never bothered to explain that guests can enter in the morning through the side of the building using one of the two keys we had. At this point, he apologized for, as he put it, “almost ruining your vacation,” gave us the first night free, told us about difficult personal circumstances, and complained about how hard it was to get used to running a bed and breakfast. That was the last we saw of him during a six night stay.

As for the room itself, it was adequate. There is no dresser, which is strange as there is plenty of space for one, so you’re forced to live out of a suitcase. The bamboo curtain on the window is completely transparent at night—people staying in the next room can see everything when they walk by. We heard the garage, as another commenter said, at about 7:30 a.m. one morning, probably Keith fleeing the business he supposedly runs. The hot breakfast only begins at 8 a.m., so if you’re in Moab to hike you can’t really take advantage of the breakfast, as you need to be on the trails by 8:00 or 8:30 at the latest to avoid the suffocating midday heat.

Really, between the two of us we have stayed in bed and breakfasts and small hotels all over the northeastern United States, Quebec, Ireland, the UK, Europe, and Eastern Europe, and this was one of the worst experiences we have ever had. Our advice would be to save yourself the potential frustration, and stay somewhere else.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Anina5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    23
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Had a great time. The room was very nice and the B&B is relaxing and comfortable!

Room Tip: The barbed wire room is at the end of the hall and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Adobe Abode was built as a Bed and Breakfast by the innkeeper and his late wife. Most of the work was done by them. It is large and spacious with many interesting Southwestern decorations. The innkeeper, Keith, has done some interesting metalwork.

Keith provides refreshments for his guests during the day as well as an excellent breakfast. He was very helpful recommending things to do. Many of our fellow guests seemed to be returning customers pleased with previous visits

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I are avid hikers which means that we were up at the crack of dawn and out the door so we couldn't really appreciate the full benefit of Adobe Abode. The abode is a gorgeous home that has very comfortable amenities and a great patio to relax in after a hard day hiking. We stayed in the Southwest Room which had a day bed in addition to our queen size bed. Nice rooms, great amenities. Keith is a charm and a great metal artist. Ask to see his portfolio of work that isn't already hang in around the abode.

Keith has cold beverages in the guest fridge that you can grab...its all include in the price. The choices are beer, wine and cold water which you need in the desert. Breakfast is served every morning at 8am. Of course since we were out the door by 7am we never got to enjoy the food but I heard it as fabulous.

One minor dislike..we would prefer that they vacuum the sand out of the room every day. Minor..and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athena381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Touring southern Utah's many wonderful parklands was the first trip my husband wanted to undertake following his (apparently successful) bout with a very rare and deadly cancer. Unlike our several previous trips there, this one would be at a slower pace, one that would allow us to enjoy a leisurely breakfast and perhaps shed the hiking boots to dress for a nice dinner. The Adobe Abode was the perfect alternative to the "value deals" on the strip. If we felt like staying in, owner Keith made it clear that it was our "home away from home," and we learned that we enjoyed billiards competition. If we felt like hiking, he reminded us to help ourselves to complementary cold beverages from the guest fridge. He suggested several restaurants and we happily tried them all. Nicole's delicious breakfasts equipped us for any and everything. I was actually pleased to hear her preparing our food as I awoke in the Asian room adjoining the kitchen. Keith and Lori's B&B creation is a story in itself. My husband and I hope to revisit their dream on our next Moab stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.9 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.2 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
16.0 km away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
1.9 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.7 km away
Cali Cochitta Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Abode Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Abode Bed & Breakfast

Property: Adobe Abode Bed & Breakfast
Address: 778 Kane Creek Blvd, Moab, UT 84532-2521
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Adobe Abode Bed & Breakfast Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing