We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a world class setting”
Review of Castle Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little gem in a world class setting”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Castle Valley Inn on a recent trip to Moab. This B&B takes a little effort to find, and you'll be happy you used your GPS, but it's well worth the search, especially for those wishing to escape the motirized insanity of Jeep Safari weekend in Moab. Located a spectacular 15 mile drive up the Colorado River canyon from Moab, the Castle Valley Inn is an elegantly rustic collection of buildings in a quiet, green valley surrounded by mind-blowing scenery. From our king-sized bed each morning we could watch the sunrise ignite the fiery orange rocks of the towering cliffs that surround the valley. The inn itself is charmingly decorated in classic Western chic, with comfortable rooms and an interesting mix of original art, pottery, rugs and custom furnishings that strikes a pleasant balance that is neither too rustic nor too fussy. There is a separate cabin for those wishing a bit more privacy. The grounds are relaxing and well-groomed, and during our visit were bursting with daffodils, hyacinths and flowering fruit trees. There are lawn chairs, a hot tub, and fire pit. Guests can cook their own dinner (some rooms have kitchenettes, and a grill is available) or drive a couple miles down the canyon to the excellent restaurant at Red Cliff Lodge. Innkeepers Jeanette and Jason Graham serve a delicious hot breakfast each day in the colorful dining room, where you can watch the birds at the feeders. You may expect a pleasant breakfast conversation about the day's plans with other discerning travelers who have discovered this hidden gem. There is a TV in each room and a large collection of videos, but - let's be honest - with so much to see and do in the Moab area, you'll be busy until after dark and then too tired to do anything but plop in bed! The Inn is clean, attractive and well maintained, and - as if that wasn't enough - is surrounded by world-class scenery. It's the perfect jumping-off place for visiting the national parks or whatever adventures are on your agenda. With such a wonderful ambience, before you even exit the driveway, you'll be looking forward to your next stay.

Room Tip: The Wingate Room (main bldg) is spacious and has a comfortable, king-sized bed with a walk-in closet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    56
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
283
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have been coming to the Moab area to hike in Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and the surrounding areas for almost 30 years. The problem is, Moab as a city and a place to base yourself is neither very attractive, nor particularly good value as far as hotels are concerned. While planning my last visit, I stumbled across Castle Valley Inn on the internet ... boy, am I glad that I did!

Castle Valley Inn is a wonderful property, set in a beautiful and peaceful location. It is extremely well run by the amiable owners, Jeanette and Jason, and their staff. Located about 17 miles from Moab along one of the most spectacular drives in the world, the inn is far enough away to be removed from Moab (which can be a touristic madhouse at times), yet close enough that it is easy to drive in for dinner or shopping.

The inn features rooms that range from "hotel-like" (in the main building) to several large apartments with full kitchens. I stayed in one of the latter (The Hovenweep) and can strongly recommend you choose one of these options. Value for money was reasonable for this region.

Amenities are top-notch. A gourmet breakfast is served (included in the room rates) each morning, there is a delightful hot tub on-property, and free wi-fi internet is available in and around the main building.

Overall, a delightful place to stay for visitors to the Moab area. I can't wait to return to the Castle Valley Inn!

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms with kitchen - like the Anasazi or Hovenweep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMESINTHAILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We love Castle Valley Inn - even thought it is 17 miles from Moab we found the drive beautiful each day and were glad to be headed to the inn at the end of the day to get away from the bustle of Moab and to enjoy a good soak in the hot tub. The hosts were great, some of the best breakfasts we've had in B & B's (which is what we always book when possible).

Room Tip: We booked so late we had to book the bedroom without an en suite bathroom. The bath was only a few f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanitaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just what we needed. We stayed in one of the cabins upstairs and and the room was very spacious and cozy! The views were very nice and the Hot tub was very inviting, as we looked up at the millions of stars. The grounds and rooms are very well maintained and very welcoming!
Breakfast was fabulous!!! Hats off to Jason and Jenette.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed one night in the Anasazi cabin which can accomodate up to 4 people and has a mini kitchen. The cabin was totally quiet and secluded with a deck for BBQing or sitting and reading a book. The B&B is about 17 miles outside of town and the drive along the Colorado river is gorgeous. I loved that the B&B was secluded as it sits on 5 acres of private property. Jeanette and Jason, the innkeepers, were very friendly and made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADeckerCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.8 km away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,845 reviews
14.7 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
726 reviews
14.5 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
816 reviews
14.6 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,338 reviews
24.1 km away
Under Canvas Moab
Under Canvas Moab
#4 of 35 in Moab
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Valley Inn

Property: Castle Valley Inn
Address: 424 Amber Lane, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,096 - ₹ 14,118
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castle Valley Hotel Moab
Castle Valley Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing